Seriously Now?

OK.
You’ve gone Green.
You’ve gone Blue (and no, not talking about Michigan State College Football).
You’ve gone Yellow.
You’ve gone Red (and not out of anger or frustration)
And some, even go Rainbow… but that is a different topic all together.

Pick a colour, there is a cause for it… much of it relating to the Save-the-World-from-Ourselves, à la Al Gore style… with hints of David Suzuki sprinkled throughout.

We spend countless, hard-earned pennies (of which for some is difficult to spare or come by especially in this economical climate) to make a difference, paying big bucks for this propaganda, while paying big tax dollars for others to do the same.

We have entered into a very reactionary ‘crisis-mode,‘ rising shovels and pruning sheers to save the planet… for we are all BAD BAD VERY BAD human beings. Afterall… we are killing our planet.

Can we do better to alleviate our carbon imprint?
I’m more than sure we can.
Just don’t follow Al Gore’s lead… he talks the talk, but doesn’t walk the walk.
Well even his talk is… questionable at the very least.
Typical politician.
Stir everyone into a frenzy by saying a bunch of shit that freaks everyone out, mix in a Nobel Peace Prize AND an Oscar over a fake ass crisis while fattening his wallet… serve on ice.

There you go.
It’s THAT bad.
Full-blown crisis.

So much so that last December, the United Nations got together in Coppenhagen to hold a Climate Summit – to save the world from ourselves – remember, ‘cause we are BAD BAD VERY BAD humans. World leaders fought hard to be there. It ended with a ‘non-binding document aiming to limit world temperature increases to no more than 2 •C.’

Wow.
The U.N. is powerful enough to modify nature and limit world temperatures?
Damn.
Who knew?

Globally, temperatures have already risen by 0.8 •C over the past century.
The planet has gone thru many evolutionary climate changes over the billions of years it’s been in existence, well before we were even a pre-conceived atom on the evolutionary time-scale.
And it will continue on that course… with or without us pedily-ass humans with big-ass egos.
Seriously now!
How audacious is it of the UN to believe that we can control the evolutionary process and limit the world’s rising temperature!
Wow.
Sometimes people leave me speechless.

Look.
I am all for cleaning up my act.
Cleaning up my actions.
Reducing to the best of capabilities and as the wallet allows me… my carbon footprint.
I do my best to buy products that are eco-friendly… and compost whenever possible (but damn, that attracts vermin like raccoons, skunks and rats…)
I don’t buy goods made from endangered species or their body parts. At least not on purpose.
I recycle and where possible, reuse.
I do my part.
I know I don’t walk nearly enough … and drive perhaps a bit too much.
But I live in a fairly less-than-urban area that makes not-owning a car, troublesome.
A girl’s gotta live!

But to think that we can control nature… jeez.

I love the contradiction in that belief system they have.
Heck, even Obama said ‘we cannot control nature’ (in relation to the 8.8 magnitude earthquake in Chile) in spite of his agenda pushing administration that says the world is in full-blown crisis with this man-made global warming bullshit.

Oye.
Seriously now.
Why, of all the issues that are going on in the world, did this one make me pop one of the last unfrayed nerves I have remaining?
I dunno.
But it sure as hell made me laugh at the audacity of man.
We are stupid people.
And even stupider if we believe all this bullshit.

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

7 Responses to Seriously Now?

  1. DJIA, in the moment in which I am typing this, is 10967.65. If you do not believe me you can look it up. If you’re reading this, you have an Internet connection. If for some reason you don’t have an Internet connection you can ask the guy sitting next to you on the train or the subway.

    More people are worried about global warming than about the DJIA, so this next one should be easy…

    I want to know the Earth’s mean temperature. Right now. Actually, not now…I want a reading that was accurate sometime in the last thirty days. Heck, the last six months. And I don’t want it in hundredths of a degree. A full degree will be perfectly adequate. This is only reasonable, right? This is the statistic that drives the panic. If it fluctuates by 0.05, there’s a blizzard of peer-reviewed papers flung around by the White Coat crowd saying we’re all gonna die.

    But you can’t get that number for me. And if you do, it doesn’t mean anything.

    I know, I know…how dare I say such a thing. I didn’t even go to college. These are our best & brightest slinging around the global warming hooey, who am I to argue with them?

    It just doesn’t take very much, that’s how. I can count to three. I can comprehend three dimensions. Earth is a three-dimensional object, and anyone who says otherwise is just wrong. It exists in three dimensions, and its surface is two dimensions. “Mean Earth Temperature” is a statistic taken from the two dimensions. And, actually, most of the scare-articles I’ve read about this, when they go into the details about why they’re stirring up a scare, you find out they’re usually measuring the average temperature among land masses.

    A thousand cc’s of water, weigh a kilogram. That’s a lot compared to dirt & sand.

    That kilogram of water gives off a Calorie, capital-C — a “kilo-calorie” — when it is cooled by one degree Celcius. It absorbs that much again when it is warmed by one degree Celcius. That’s called “heat density,” and that’s quite a bit of it. Again, a whole lot compared to dirt & sand.

    But even if you take that into account, you’re still not arriving at an objectively-measured, reproducible summary of anything called “Earth Mean Temperature” until you measure it across three dimensions, not just two. Which means you have to go to the Earth’s core. That’ll ratchet your bottom-line value by something in the magnitude of thousands of degrees.

    So you know where you can stick that two degrees Celcius.

  2. Old Iron says:

    “Audacity of Man”. I wonder where I have heard that term before… And yes it is audacious to think that it is ourselves as a species and not cosmic influence or even factors we either have not identified or just haven’t thought of figuring in (a la Morgan). Honestly, who do we think we are believing that we can control the weather when, to use the Africans I work around, should spend more time caring about putting food on the table than if we have to eat said food in a jacket or shorts?

  3. Buck says:

    You’ve gone Blue (and no, not talking about Michigan State College Football).

    OK, so now we know you’re NOT a college ball fan. MSU’s colors are green and white, Big Blue is the UoM in Ann Arbor. 😉

  4. GIS says Buck is right.

    Most pedantic among the non-irritating, or least irritating among the pedants…

  5. Pingback: House of Eratosthenes

Leave a comment