Unsated

We are coming up to the anniversary of the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games.
Feels just like yesterday that I was there… working.
While I won’t say never it’s very hard to imagine anything ever topping that experience in my life.
It was momentous.
And highly stressful.
It did indeed take a huge toll on me.
But it was worth it.
With unexpected … after shock …
What I didn’t expect was just how it would impact me.
I mean I knew it would move me
It would play a huge role in my life
I mean it did further my career leaps and bounds
But what I find odd is that…
OK – for example:
Superbowl.
While I love watching Football… and the excitement of the Superbowl…
Nothing compares for me the heightened emotion of…
Hockey Gold… Canada vs. USA
I find myself watching Stanley Cup Games and being bored.
Watching the Superbowl and being bored.
I watch sporting events that I once found exhilarating
And find very little enjoyment.

I am officially ruined.
As my friend said to me:

it’s hard to drink kool-aid once you’ve had champagne
you saw the heights
it’s all downhill from there
lol

And how could it after that?
I mean I experienced something that changed a nation.
First hand.
In fact, I was one of very few that actually had a hand in making that magic happen, for real.
I was part of a small group of people that made it happen… the good and bad.
Nothing has been the same since.
Because of that one but very large overwhelming experience.
My personal Mount Everest…
I wonder if I will ever feel the same again…
What beats that feeling?

Totally disinterested, I watched a lackluster Superbowl.
I watch hockey and see only fleeting glimmers of 2010 Men’s Hockey Gold
But my heart doesn’t race
My blood pressure doesn’t rise
My eyes don’t swell with tears and pride
I watch with the hope that something might stir in me
Like it did last Winter.

But to this day… I remain unsated.
What next?

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

2 Responses to Unsated

  1. Buck says:

    But to this day… I remain unsated.

    Au contraire. I think you ARE sated, perhaps overly so. Think of it this way: if you’ve just finished the best meal of your life… a three-hour, seven course event with EVERY dish you ever dreamed of and the best wine… and someone invites you to a follow-on banquet with dishes of equal quality, would you accept? Prolly not, because you are FULL.

    Give it a year or three. You’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

