I’m off to visit with my father in Calgary, Alberta.
Counting my blessings this Christmas season, lemme tell you.
I’ve had a LOT of stress in my life for the last two months.
Emotional roller coaster leaving me nauseous with life.

My father has heart disease.
He has a condition that is called Atherosclerosis … also known as hardening of the arteries.
He also has renal disease, with his kidneys functioning at just barely 30%/
So operating on him was a dangerous…
Well days after coming home from Oman and just moments before jumping on a plane to spend Thanksgiving with Old Iron and his family in Alabama, I got the call.
My father was admitted to the hospital for another heart attack.
And while we originally thought it would only be yet another angiogram procedure for further blocked arteries… he ended up having to have emergency triple-heart bypass surgery.
He almost didn’t make it thru the the procedure.
We lucked out with the fact that he got the best cardiac surgeon available on the West Coast in Canada.
She rocked his surgery … beautifully.
Now he’s been released and sent home.
One of the medications he will have to take for the rest of his life is a rat poison.
And that said rat poison caused internal bleeding.
So … another heart-stopping moment for me was this past week when I got yet another call telling me he was back in the hospital for 1) an irregular heart beat
2) internal bleeding
The rat poison caused sores in his stomach lining to bleed, profusely.
So they have that under control
And they are monitoring his so-called irregular heart beat as it is not uncommon for the heart, after surgery of that magnitude, for the heart to reset itself and its heart beat. But of course they freak you out by NOT telling you this until much later.

All I can say is stress has been a constant for me since my birthday.
I have had the amazing support of my amazing friend Old Iron… my rock.
I thank the powers that be who put us together in this life time.

So now I am off to spend some quality time with my dad.
I am excited to see him… as time flew by so quickly that I didn’t even realise the last time I saw him was back in June 2009.
So I am about to jump on that plane, on boxing day…
And my friend sent me this cartoon … and just made me giggle
And man, do I ever need it!!

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

3 Responses to

  1. Buck says:

    I hope your father gets better soonest, KC. Have a GREAT visit!

  2. lady red says:

    You’ve been through a rough time, ~KC~. I hope you have a wonderful visit with your dad, and that he’s feeling better very soon.

Leave a Reply

