Another day OFF in the Delta

Interesting times here in the Delta States, as someone came up with the bright idea that due to some sort of safety record that we achieved we deserved a day off of work while on site. Now a layman’s first reaction to such a thing would be, “What in the nine hells would one possibly DO with a full day off there? I mean, not like you guys have any real activities to participate in or places that you can go.”

This is absolutely full of truth: we don’t have a football pitch anymore as we had to build a product tank on that real estate, and as we operate a closed camp, none of the local “hot spots” would be accessible to us… even if there WERE any in the middle of the swamp out here. Boredom SHOULD have abounded as we mill about, directionless, but such was not the case.

There were three separate BBQ’s running, and if it could be grilled it was. I had South African steaks, tacos that tasted like they came out of a stall in Tijuana, and the libations flowed like the Niagara. The conversations were a bit stale as we didn’t have any people returning from leave and all present have been on site for some time, but camaraderie was shared and not an ill word was spoken. You would have thought we were all part of some big, happy family… and for that moment, you would have been right.

The lesson in this is that no matter where you are or what your current lot in life is, you can always make SOMETHING out of it if it involves booze.

So how was your weekend?

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

9 Responses to Another day OFF in the Delta

  1. Buck says:

    So how was your weekend?

    I made something out of it. It involved booze. πŸ™‚

    I coulda used a South African steak, though.

  2. Old Iron says:

    Buck, fantastic. The booze was out in force for our day off (of course), but I gotta tell you my opinion about the South African steaks… even though I might get my beef street cred with my other American friends pulled permanently. Damn the torpedoes and all that…

    -I have had steak from pretty much all points on the globe, with most being pretty awesome to being so torturous that it was as if pulled from the gluttony circle of Hell that Dante described, with my overall favorites listed:

    1. South African – I have no idea what they feed their cattle out there, but one of the greatest things that the fall of Apartheid did was bless us with this meaty manna from the edge of the dark continent. EVERY piece that I have ever consumed did things to my mouth that, if represented physically, would be banned in 182 countries. It literally is the best beef out there.

    2. Australian – Another wonderful slab of meat, and a close second to South African. I had some aged tenderloin shipped in to me while I was in Qatar and if I would have grilled it to any other level than rare I think even jihadis would weep at the desecration that mid rare would have been to it. Oddly enough the meat had a slightly lighter texture than other meats that I have eaten, which seemed to trap the juices even better.

    3. American – A true staple of the steak world and the defining meat of my home nation… How can you go wrong with a good Angus slab smothered in grilled onions and fresh mushrooms?

    In my defense all of the above mentioned have completely different tastes, but are listed in order of my personal favorites.

    (I could have made this a post unto itself…)

    • ~KC~ says:

      I like my Canadian beef.
      And yes.
      This is a post onto itself.

      I won’t talk about my weekend here but lets just say it involved a few oooh oooh ooohs

    • Buck says:

      The next time you’re in Europe, look for an Argentinian steak house. I’ve eaten in quite a few, there are a couple of particularly good ones in Amsterdam. I’ve also had South African beef while in Europe, trade being what it is. I’ve never (knowingly) sampled Australian beef, but there’s a better than even chance I’ve eaten it, what with spending all that time in the fun parts of the Pacific Rim. Japanese beef isn’t all that bad, either!

      My personal rankings are:

      1. Argentina.
      2. US.
      3. All others πŸ™‚

      • ~KC~ says:

        Buck… Old Iron & I are planning a holiday in Argentina and I can’t wait to try their infamous beef!! And trust me, there will be pictures and most probably blog postings to accompany them! We are looking at April time frame to go… can’t wait!

      • Old Iron says:

        We are SO going to have to check out the buzz on that meat, Buck. Mouth is watering in anticipation…

      • Buck says:

        Howcum you guys get to go to ALL the cool places? πŸ˜‰

      • ~KC~ says:

        I’m just working on crossing off my MUST-VISIT-PLACES-BEFORE-I-DIE bucket list…
        Argentina is the #1 on my list.
        Old Iron is game and eager to come along…
        And I am eager to tag along on his adventures when he invites/allows me to invade his space!
        So we do these things together because its more fun to travel with each other than not.
        Works for me!
        Besides, he keeps me out of trouble…
        πŸ˜‰

      • Old Iron says:

        Buck, we just get bored of hanging about our respective houses and, well, just go. It really helps that KC makes one hell of a travel buddy and is a pretty good shutter bug too.

Leave a Reply

