Nothing new to report, Sir.

An odd thing happened after I had returned from this rotation to the work site, returned to the only place I have experienced that has prison-esque flairs about it such as razor wire and tall concrete walls but actually pays you fairly well for the labor that you participate in. The odd thing hit me after about a few days here, after getting into my room that has issues with the hot water (scalding or non-existent) and holes in the floor that you could land a CH-46 in. Not until I had dined in the DEFAC a couple of times on the swill that they call foodstuffs as well did it make itself apparent. Nor was it a completely clear picture until the rumor mill churned out the usual chaff, consisting of “all the expats are going to get run off” to  “you are going to loose your business class flights due to cutbacks in operations costs”.

-You know, the usual… AND THAT’S WHAT HIT ME!

This really IS the usual that I am used to.

I am used to substandard food and living conditions.

I have come to terms with the fact that Nigeria, as a country, really doesn’t want me here.

I deal with the odd look I get when I actually am forced to let someone know that yes, I do indeed work in Africa and have been there for some time, and have no intention of leaving in the near future.

In short, I am used to my life, and to be honest it is kinda refreshing.

(Alright, enough of the self-reflection. Hot chick time!)

-Can’t forget the pie though.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

3 Responses to Nothing new to report, Sir.

  1. Old Iron says:

    Any time Daphne, any time. All I need is a time and place 😉

  2. Old Iron says:

    Oops… Misunderstood. Shower shots could be in the future…

Leave a Reply

