…Club Dead…

KC Halloween 2010

For some, it’s Christmas…
And for others, it’s Halloween.

For me – I never grew up with either and being without kids, I couldn’t REALLY give a rats ass but when you have to amazingly precious children who want to spend their favorite holiday with their Aunty KC… I decided to care. 

AND… I have to say this much… I had a fabulous time this past Halloween… chez “Club Dead” aka my cousin’s place in Toronto, Ontario. (I was asked to not post pictures of the family and most especially the children… and I can respect that… so no great costumes and make-up getups from the family… sorry!  Take my word for it… they were AWESOME vampires!!!)

My cousin, the Queen Vamp, spent a week plotting out her setup for the front yard.
Along with the King of the Dead, her hubby – they masterminded a great staging for Halloween… being the theme ‘Club Dead.’

Fortune Teller

Yes.
Queen Vamp was out with her power tools into all hours of the night, sowing up stage curtains, painting, creating … for a week straight.
I came along late in the game… the night before – to help with the actual staging. (I don’t have pictures to put up of me hold onto my cousin’s waist as she crawled out the second story bathroom window of her very large house – head first (or butt first depending on which direction you were looking at her) to put up the Club sign… talk about H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S! Smart? Hell no. Especially considering she was only held onto with a hemp cord… but wow… good times for sure!)
King of the Dead spent all day Sunday putting the display together …
Complete with foggers, disco ball, tombstones, noise makers, musical soundtrack, lighting etc…
I helped with the props, assembling of the bar … you know, the important stuff!
I also helped out with Vampire Princess’s hair & make-up… getting this gorgeous 8 yrs old ready for a fun night out.
I spent only a wee bit of time on myself but the effect was exactly what I wanted… and as Vampire Princess and I prowled the streets for loot, I managed to freak out a parent or two (ok… more like MANY) and some of the older kids would walk big circles around me.
I was wearing this AMAZING long hooded black velvet cap that my cousin sowed together – combine that with my make-up and yeah, I got the desired effect.
It was really fun times!

Part of the Front Yard

Let me just say this though: Mother Nature was cruel though… messing with the most favorite time of year for my cousin & her family… we woke up to below zero Celsius weather… and got hit a few times with wet snow.
Yes.
I said SNOW.
The oh-so-evil evil Mother Nature that she is… didn’t let up either and it was a pretty bone chilling cold Halloween.
It didn’t get the best of us though… it was most definitely a Halloween extravaganza chez Club Dead.
I could be wrong but I believe they had over 1,000 people come by – gave out more than 400 pieces of candy – and the door kept on knocking even at 9:45pm!!!

Yeah.
It was that good.
So enjoy some of the pictures I took of the props and the setup…
I had a blast… and have a great warped family!

Club Dead

Karaoke Bar chez Club Dead

The Bar Slaves chez Club Dead

Beer Selection chez Club Dead

Booze Selection chez Club Dead

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

4 Responses to …Club Dead…

  1. Old Iron says:

    Friggin AWESOME! You even put in a reference to the ol’ Bar Slaves. It brings a tear to the eye, it does!

    I hope the kids had a blast. It looks like it was a ton of fun for all.

    • ~KC~ says:

      The kids said.. and I quote:

      From the lil man, Count Dracula:
      for next Halloween, can you come over? You’re a really fun talk-mate.

      From the Vampire Princess:
      Did you know that a lot of kids at school were talking about our house? Everybody admired the job you did with my makeup. Thank you for coming this Halloween. It meant a lot to me and I loved being able to trick-or-treat with you. It was fun to be able to hang out with you.

      Man do I love those kids!!!
      And how can one do a Club Dead Halloween scene without thinking of the Bar Slaves??!
      Glad you enjoyed!
      You were definitely there in spirit.. AND in the spirits… heehehe!

  2. Buck says:

    OK… Enquiring Minds© HAVE to know… where did ya get the props? Or the labels for same?

    • ~KC~ says:

      The props are all my cousin’s belongings.
      We took regular beer and booze bottles – some of the labels she designed herself while others she bought somewhere in the US (a Halloween store online).
      She is soooooo talented and creative that its humbling at times!
      She reads the blog so maybe she will see these comments and reply back as well.

Leave a Reply

