100 Miles from Memphis

Occasionally I get excited about a newly released album by a seasoned artist (not talking about these pre-fab tweens they call artists nowadays)…
Where every song on the album is a musical orgy, tantalizing my eardrums with smooth classic sounds of the yonder years, taking me away to a time and place well before my years – that gets me bopping in my chair, reminding me of my formative young adult nights spent in the seedy clubs of Detroit that I still long for…
Yes.
It happens occasionally.
It’s how I feel about Sheryl Crow’s latest album 100 Miles from Memphis
Yes.
I admit it.
I bought it unheard… without even hearing one song.
I impulsively bought it while standing patiently in line at Starbucks for my grande skinny Awake latte.
Along with the Bee Gees Starbucks Opus Collection… but that one, while I adore the Bee Gees, I am far less inclined to recommend.

However, I must tell you that Sheryl Crow’s 100M album has been by far one of the best impulsive purchases made in a long time.

Now I am a huge fan of old skool R&B soul, Motown and a lot of funk. And her latest album is reeking of it… in a good way! She takes you on a musical journey, with collaborations with Justin Timberlake (remaking Terrence Trent D’Arby’s ‘Sign Your Name’ hit with a smoothness and sexiness that I didn’t think could be infused any further into the song), Keith Richards (infused some of Sheryl’s rhythms with an Island vibe and raspy vocals) and Clarence Greenwood (remaking the song ‘Sideways’ which has been featured in many a movie) …

Its unique in that, yes, it is aromatized, fragrant and steeped with the classic sounds that I inheritably was born with thanks to my beloved mother’s musical palate … but it is truly a classic Sheryl Crow album – staying true to her artistry. No pretentions. Clear, concise acoustic sounds. No flashy synthesized sounds, just straight up raw talented musician, playing real instruments … good ol’ fashioned real music making.

It’s been on heavy rotation in the car, at work and at home.

What can I say, it hits every romanticized ideas I have, every vision of ‘what if’ I possess and indulges my capacity to appreciate a musical era that slipped into the background before I was conceived… without massacring the genre as many seasoned artist have done in recent years.

I most certainly give this album a 9.5/10 stars.
The best musical purchase made this year… for sure.

Track Listing
1. Our Love is Fading
2. Eye to Eye
3. Sign Your Name
4. Summer Day
5. Long Road Home
6. Say What You Feel
7. Peaceful Feeling
8. Stop
9. Sideways
10. 100 Miles from Memphis
11. Roses and Moonlight
Bonus Track: I Want You Back

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

6 Responses to 100 Miles from Memphis

  1. Buck says:

    I’m not a Crow fan, unless they’re Black and have an “E” on the end of the avian appellation. But that’s just me.

    You DO point out one of the things I miss about City Life. I’ve made more impulse purchases of music standing in line at Starbucks than anywhere else, evah. I’ve always been amazed at Starbucks amazing eclecticism and sheer Good Taste when it comes to the music in their stores and their anthologies are some of the best collections ever assembled. It’s seriously good stuff.

    I thought I’d died and went to heaven a few years back when I found an actual Starbucks music store in San Antonio… one of mebbe five in the US at the time. I dropped nearly 150.00 bucks on CDs before I left the premises…

    How’s THAT for a thread hijack?

    • ~KC~ says:

      Hijack away my friend!
      I LOVE Starbucks for that too… in Ontario, Starbucks is not nearly as popular as it is in Vancouver (Ontario is Tim Horton nation) but I always end up buying music there. It is a VERY difficult thing for me to walk out of an SB coffee shop without a new CD (or two or three) tucked away in my purse. Coffee is rather expensive when you drop $20++ each time!!! But oh so worth it… oh la la!

      I know not everyone is a fan of Sheryl Crow but truly, her CD is EXCELLENT… unless of course you aren’t a fan of the genre, then this whole post should be ignored. LOL! I’m kind of used to that anyhow… hehehehe

  2. Buck says:

    Coffee is rather expensive when you drop $20++ each time!!! But oh so worth it… oh la la!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s mad. I had a Starbucks on the ground floor of my office building back in SFO and I routinely dropped 20 bucks a day in that place… just on coffee. And the odd pastry or two. I was seriously addicted then and miss them terribly now.

  3. Old Iron says:

    I have always found is that Starbucks is actually a pretty cool little joint, what with the mildly avaunt garde atmosphere and pretty awesome pastries and coffee blends. I even have purchased some of the kitchen hardware that they constantly display and it is pretty high quality gear.

    Thing is… Why is it that every time I purchase either the whole bean or ground coffee and brew it either at the house or in the field… It usually has a taste reminiscent of the scent of a cow pasture?

    • Buck says:

      Why is it that every time I purchase either the whole bean or ground coffee…

      Your coffee pot, mebbe? Starbucks’ Columbian blend is a staple at El Casa Móvil De Pennington (I’m having my third cup of same as I type) and it tastes/smells WONDERFUL.

      • ~KC~ says:

        Could be because he brews it with Nigerian waters…. ???
        I dunno but mine certainly doesn’t taste like cow patties either… hmmm!
        Café Mokka…

Leave a Reply

