Roller Derby Chicks ROCK!

That's Kryptonite Baby...

So I’ve seen the movie Whip It
And I’ve always wanted to see this full contact sport on roller skates in action…
One day as I waiting for the bus to take me home – I saw this beat up poster on the light post…
For the Tri-City Roller Girls
And it peaked my curiosity.
I had to go to watch what this was all about.
Full contact sport with chicks.
No.
I’m not gay.
Nor do I have lesbian tendencies or even curiosities.
Sorry boys (and beautiful ladies…)
One might say I worship at the penis altar.
A nice… tall.. big.. penis altar…. oh yeah.
Nothing against the V-J-J… I just prefer the other team that way…
But I digress.
What I do like… is strong women.
In an all woman sport.
Looking good while going down…
Retro-style.

The Jabber's Itty Bitty Boo-teh

OK… back to the sport
I hadn’t seen it played in Canada…
OK. Well honestly: I hadn’t seen it played ANYWHERE.
But no doubt, the sport was alive and well, somewhere in this landscape of ours.
So this was my opportunity to check them roller derby chicks out!
And it was total awesomesauce!

OK… it wasn’t nearly as full contact as I expected it.
I’m sure its pretty hard core in some places in the US.
It wasn’t on a full derby elevated rink.
Nope – it was on a thawed out, flat concrete floor hockey arena.
It was a full crowd… all walks of life represented.

I loved seeing families come out to cheer on their ladies…
Young kids wanting autographs of our derby chicks.
People in trekkie uniforms (I believe it was a pre-Halloween celebration… or so I choose to believe… if not, well Live Long & Prosper, New Generation fan over here!!!)
Total punk rock attire…
A little of the rockabilly stylin’ goin’ on
Infused with the Pin-Up culture that I adore…
Yeah.
I loved it.
Even if I am pretty conservative and far less adventurous in my stylin’s as the scene was.
But it didn’t matter to me.
I LOVED it.

Thunder vs. CN Power

The skate/match itself.. well it wasn’t a well paired, evenly skilled-out team.
My girls, the home grown team called the Tri-City Roller Girls, aka ‘Thunder’ totally dominated the CN Power, ladies in Pink from Toronto, team.
Yeah.
Final score for the Thunder: 122 to 50.
Like I said… not evenly matched team.
But hey – the ladies in Pink gave it their all… and it was fun to see!
Not as solid on their feet as the Thunder… who totally THUNDER-STRUCK the CN POWER!!!
HA!
Totally geekin’ it out right now…
*deep breath. FOCUS*

Much to my amazement (or was it dismay, not sure)…
There was no blood.
There was no fights.
There wasn’t any blows.
Yes, some pretty good whip-outs!

Action Shot

But it was enough to make me want to go again, and again.. and definitely again.
… and I wanna see me some REAL Southern-style derby action!
Soon enough.
But you won’t see me putting on skates…
Nawh – had enough face-plants in roller skates in my day.
I’ll stick to my roller blades.
And cheer on the one and only Tri-City Girls!

So as I promised Old Iron… because the AWESOMEST friend EVAH… I took some pictures. 
You totally owe me now.
To repay me… I think the proper payment would be to take to a Roller Derby in yer neck of the woods, true Southern-style.
Yup.
I think that just about makes us even …
hehehe…

Enjoy!

Graceful loosers, the Pink Ladies, getting their atta-gurls from the crowd

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

6 Responses to Roller Derby Chicks ROCK!

  1. Old Iron says:

    From what I hear from my buds that actually go to the ones back home they really are a full contact rock ’em sock ’em thing, with some pretty good hits and all around aggression. I would love to take you to one when you come down for Thanksgiving.

  2. Buck says:

    One might say I worship at the penis altar.
    A nice… tall.. big.. penis altar…. oh yeah.

    Forgive me, but I TOTALLY lost my concentration after that outburst. What was it you were sayin’? 😉

    • ~KC~ says:

      Not sure… I got hung up on nice… tall… big… penis.
      You sure I said anything else after that?
      😉

      • Old Iron says:

        You! Yeah you, over there in the gutter! OUT WITH YOU!

        KC, I think the subtlety police are pointing at you this time.

      • ~KC~ says:

        Are YOU talking to me Old Iron?
        Am I being ticketed for my LACK of subtlety? I don’t see an issue with that?!
        I’ll fight in the CENSORSHIP court!!!

        And men are always complaining about women not coming right out and saying what they really mean to say… and here I am, saying exactly what I mean to say… and I get in trouble? Sheesh! Is there no pleasing you?
        😉

        Besides… while I’m laying down in the gutter with my wonderful thoughts, I am also looking up at the stars.
        You know, its not so bad down here in the gutter!
        Far better than Nigeria…
        😉

Leave a Reply

