Conflicted… Part II

Yes. I know. I’ve been very absent from this blog.
It has everything to do with the fact that blogs are banned at work. I could get fired, according to HR, for even READING a blog while at work, even though they are not hidden behind any firewalls. And as of late, my job has been incredibly stressful, as I am preparing for an approximate  month-long business trip to the Sultante of Oman (Middle East, a Muslim country, which is ironic considering what I am about to share below) … with long hours and draining issues – when I come home, the last thing on my mind is a blog posting.
Lame ass excuse, I know.
Shame on me.
I do miss writing, though.
So I am making the time today to finish saying what I’ve been trying to say since, well… since… July or was it August… sheesh I don’t even remember!!!
So here it goes…

I’m conflicted.
Torn.
What was once a pretty clear issue for me, on which side of the fence I leaned the most, today, as I type this… I am very torn.
You see – while I was in Montreal a few months ago for training, a pretty big issue was brewing… both nationally but also internationally. Something that was a pretty big issue on this very blog:
To burka or not to burka?
Yes. THIS topic, yet again.
As I mentioned in Part I of my journey into la belle province de Québec, where the true meaning of Je Me Souviens is lost on most staunch separatists. Having grown up in that province and having felt the hatred for all things not Catholic FRENCH, I know first hand what it feels like to be discriminated against. So I simply categorized their once again, over the top, disdain for all things – not Catholic or French.
The burka.
It stemmed from this situation… which was also right on the tails of France’s national debate going at the time.
Instinctively – I ABHOUR this ban.
It goes against everything that I believe in… the freedom to choose for oneself.
HOWEVER…
While I was in Montreal…
We had a situation that was reported and it made the hairs on the back on my neck stand to attention… and I got VERY angry.
Watch for yourself:

Yes.
I was not the only one angered by this… and for the first time I started to question my beliefs.
Yes.
I am still a staunch believer in freedom to choose.
But if your choice puts national security at risk… then that choice deserves to be overridden.
Not just deserves… but MUST be overridden.
9/11 changed everything.
Hate to admit it, but it did.
And while we live in a world so PC that it makes even my teeth ache from all the sweetness and pussy footing going around… things MUST change… things HAVE changed.
It is now a necessity to change things and do things differently.
Because it is obvious that what was done before… didn’t work!
So suddenly, this national debate that was ongoing (back in July/August) suddenly took on, albeit conflicting, a different tone and meaning for me.

I am still struggling with this whole issue.
National security – OUR security – is important – not just important but CRITICAL.
Anyone who puts national security in danger by refusing to remove a face covering – well simply should not be allowed to fly.
As simple as that.
Not allowed to take public transit, honestly.
I sat back and wondered how it was possible to let religion take precedence over national security?
Had we gone so far in our bid to be ‘accepting’ of difference that we overlook our own safety?
It’s such a fine line, honestly.
Because in my mind, it’s also stating that all Muslims are potential terrorists and therefore, we are painting them with the same brush.
I know that’s not true off all Muslims because I’ve known many Muslims in my lifetime, in fact, being in a long term relationship and co-habitating with one.
Never once was it an issue… but that was pre 9/11.
So where does one draw that line?
We must put safety before religion.
But at what point do we let people practice their own faiths without the fear of repercussions and religious persecution?
I was sent something recently… which sent me even further into the depths of hades… a place where I feel hatred and intolerance of the worst kind, lives:

Can a good Muslim be A good Canadian?

This question was forwarded to a man who worked in Saudi Arabia for 20 years. The following is his reply:

Theologically – no. . . .
Because his allegiance is to Allah, The moon God of Arabia.

Religiously – no. . .
Because no other religion is accepted by His Allah Except Islam (Quran, 2:256)(Koran)

Scripturally – no.. . .
Because his allegiance is to the five Pillars of Islam and the Quran.

Geographically – no .
Because his allegiance is to Mecca, to which he Turns in prayer five times a day.

Socially – no. . ..
Because his allegiance to Islam forbids him to make Friends with Christians or Jews ..

Politically – no. . .
Because he must submit to the mullahs (spiritual Leaders), who teach annihilation of Israel, America and destruction of Canada , We are the great Satan.

Domestically – no.. .. .
Because he is instructed to marry four Women and Beat and scourge his wife when she disobeys him (Quran 4:34 )

Intellectually – no. .
Because he cannot accept the American Constitution since it is based on Biblical principles and he believes the Bible to be corrupt.

Spiritually – no.. . .
Because when we declare ‘one nation under God,’ The Christian’s God is loving and kind, while Allah is NEVER referred to As Heavenly father, nor is he ever called love in the Quran’s 99 Excellent names.

Therefore, after much study and deliberation….
perhaps we should be Very suspicious of ALL MUSLIMS in this country. – – – They obviously Cannot be both good’ Muslims and good Canadians. Call it what you wish it’s still the truth. You had better believe it. The more who understand This, the better it will be for our country and our future.

The religious war is bigger than we know or understand. ……

Footnote: The Muslims have said they will destroy us from within..

Is this what we’ve become?
I read such things and it sends chills down my spin as it continues to promote hatred.
I am happy to learn that the Canadian government, as much as I think the current administration is a bunch of idiots, have insisted that airlines MUST check faces with IDs … and have tightened up air security rules.
I am not adverse to the rules that are in place insisting that all face coverings are to be removed in certain public places, where government services are provided.

But this whole issue has conflicted me beyond belief… pushing me to go against beliefs that I held strong to and walk that fine line of discrimination vs. national security. I haven’t seen anything yet that Québec has passed that as law but for the first time since this debate and debacle started, I find myself not fighting it… going against myself.

There is sooo much hatred in this world and I feel like I am now ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE… and its not settling very well within.

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

3 Responses to Conflicted… Part II

  1. Welcome back. Having recently finished reading Hirsi Ali’s Infidel, a thought comes to mind. Theoretically, the principles of liberty would dictate we allow these women to choose to wear a burka. BUT. I sure wonder how many of them are really wearing it by choice. I mean, the Muslim culture is such that women risk being “honor killed” for becoming too westerized. A lot probably think they are willing wearers of the garment, but these women are so conditioned, yes brainwashed, into submission from cradle to grave.

    You’ll have lots of interesting things to share about this trip, I bet.

  2. WTF says:

    The responses to “Can a good Muslim be A good Canadian?” are completely ignorant. I can go over them with you one by one. For example, intellectually: “Because he cannot accept the American Constitution since it is based on Biblical principles.” Most of Muslim/Arabic countries constitutions are secular ones. Spiritually – no. One of Allah names is the merciful, which I believe is better than love.

    His answers apply on extremists which we all know exist in all religions, and that person is a good example of a non-Muslim extremist. It happened that in this age there were few Muslim extremists and many ignorants that pained all Muslims as terrorists. But it is up to us, educated and smart people, to counter such ideas. Or else, unfairness and prejudice towards mainstream, liberal Muslims will only push them to the widely open arms of the radicals.

  3. Old Iron says:

    The only real issue that I have with the burqua is that (and yes, this is a personal opinion) it is perceived as a physical representation of a lack of societal integration and a way of not only concealing one’s form from the masses but one’s intentions as well. It is a large, bulky garment, and when I see one the reactionary thought that comes to mind is “what is actually going on under there?” The garment is also NOT mentioned in the Koran, but is worn to fulfill the “dress modestly” requirement, and in modern society the term “modest” has about a brazillion different forms that it could take other than a type of clothing that most in the Western world associate with the more extreme interpretations of Islam.

    -Basically saying, there is a more accepted and easier way to be a good Muslim than wearing a garment that makes it look like you are gating yourself off from the world.

Leave a Reply

