Brass. They are made of SOLID BRASS.

Carousing around the intertubes today allowed me to come across an article in the Stars and Stripes (via the wealth of linkage that is Fark) that goes on to describe one of my fellow Devil Dogs doing what Devil Dogs do… Get hit, get knocked down but get RIGHT back up and OWN a situation. The story:

-Few people survive stepping on an improvised explosive device. Even fewer walk away the same day after directly absorbing the force of the blast, but Garst did just that.

A squad leader with 3rd Battalion, 3rd Marine Regiment, Garst was leading his squad on a patrol in Southern Shorsurak, Afghanistan, June 23 to establish a vehicle checkpoint in support of Operation New Dawn.

What really happened even eludes Garst. All went black after the earth uppercut him. When he came to, he was standing on his feet holding his weapon, turning to see the remnants of the blast and wondering why his squad had a look on their faces as if they’d seen a ghost.

“My first thought was, ‘Oh s—, I just hit an IED,’” he said. “Then I thought, ‘Well I’m standing. That’s good.’”

Garst’s squad stared at him in disbelief. The square-jawed Marine has a tendency to be short-tempered, and the realization that the blast was meant to kill him spiked his adrenaline and anger.

“It pissed me off,” he said.

He directed his men to establish a security perimeter while letting them know in his own way that he was OK.

“What the f— are you looking at?” he said. “Get on the cordon!”

I suggest going over to the link and reading the whole story; I have read and re-read it and every time I do it just gets more epic. This man’s first response was not to panic, not to unload in trousers, but to immediately get his men in a defensive parameter and ensure their safety, doing what the situation required. This just re-affirms the pride I have in the time that I served in this group of heroes.

Dan Daly and Smedly Butler tip their hats to you, as you have earned your place in the history of the Corps.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

2 Responses to Brass. They are made of SOLID BRASS.

  1. Buck says:

    one of my fellow Devil Dogs doing what Devil Dogs do…

    You’re a Jarhead, OI? I know there’s no such thing as “former Marine,” which is why I used the present tense…

    About the article: Lex linked it a while back and I was amazed then. Still am.

  2. Old Iron says:

    Yep, did my time in the Corps from ’96 to ’00 and, to be honest, loved every minute of it. Mind you I was in the Air Wing (“swinging with the Wing”) but it was rotary so I hope I don’t loose too much face 😉

Leave a Reply

