Concern

I have made it no secret that I work in one of the most despicable places on this little blue marble we inhabit: the lovely den of corruption and thieves that has decided to label itself “Nigeria”. To describe some of the travesties that have been viewed with these eyes would shock most to the core, but yet I still am out here due to the one carrot that, if dangled properly in the faces of any would make them participate in some horrendous activities… money.

I have read documents that were pseudo-contractual smokescreens to hide bribery in it’s purest form.

Product has passed through my hands that had a markup that would make a $5000 toilet seat sold to the American military look like a pittance.

Theft? -Oh yeah, and on a scale that boggles the mind.

Now that I have established that this place is rife with the type of corruption that would make Al Capone tip his hat…

-I respect it.

At least it is out in the open and not covered in the guise of the law or the phrase “we are doing this for the PEOPLE”.

Unlike what the American government which through government “assistance” is now condemning me for believing that it was up to me to decide on where and how to spend my ill-gotten gains, where and how I am going to cover myself in the case of a medical issue, how MUCH I am allowed to earn before I become an enemy of the State and what type of car that I drive. All of these things have happened in the time that I have resided overseas in places that make my friends and family blanche at the very mention of their names, so honestly in my brain case I still have a mental picture of what America was politically back in 2004 and have not caught up to the current mental landscape that is America circa 2010.

-And I don’t think I want to.

Isn’t there any way to actually, I dunno, STOP THESE PEOPLE FROM RUINING MY COUNTRY?!?!?

Until then the mental picture will not update and I will continue partying like it is 2004.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

2 Responses to Concern

Leave a Reply

