Skin like rice paper

White House officials said Obama’s decision, made over a tense 40 hours, pitted his desire to retain a talented general who designed the Afghan strategy against the importance of preserving the authority of the commander in chief.

…Like Obama gives two shits what the military thinks of their civilian commander. Firing, not removing from his current position but actually FIRING FROM THE MILITARY, a theater commander because of some sideways comments in a magazine of literally no importance to anyone but slack-jawed morons that can’t find their favorite flavor of music unless led to it like lambs? Not that I took this administration seriously in any way before, but this… this is just juvenile. While I was in the military during the Clinton era we thought THAT guy was an embarrassment, but you Mr. Obama have brought that sense to a level that has not been seen since the sacking of Rome by its own.

No wonder the body public is revolting against you.

As an aside…

General McChrystal, I may not have agreed on some of your strategic choices or your approach to warfare, but I will recognize and salute your 34 years of service to our country. Your participation in the good fight will be missed, and I hope your time in the civilian sector will be enjoyable and rewarding.

UPDATE: I think this belief that Obama is taking perceived dissension in the ranks personally, because amidst all of the other severely pressing matters at hand… he decides to pick up where he left off and go after Arizona on the immigration law that they passed.

-The “Great Uniter” my ass. What’s next, telling South Korea that because you HATE the smell of kemchi you are going to assist Kim Jong-Il with a takeover of the south if he eliminates the fermented cabbage dish as a national cuisine?

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

One Response to Skin like rice paper

  1. Buck says:

    I’m glad I’m retired. I served under a few presidents… from Kennedy to Reagan… and The One reminds me too damned much of Jimmuh. If you think Clinton was bad… But we digress. This one is a split decision, what with many folks comin’ down on The One’s side. FWIW… I think he fucked up. Big time. I was somewhat mollified and gratified to read Gates advocated for McChrystal, taking the appropriate “what’s best for the nation” long-view. Too bad Obama didn’t do the same.

Leave a Reply

