Three week hiatus… over.

Hello folks. It has been some time since the last post, but I had some things that to take care of and events to participate in, most of which I will cover in future bits and pieces that I place here to decorate this blog. The largest and most important occurrence was that I had the chance to actually spend more than a handful of days with my son while on rotation, and that took my entire focus.

Not to give too much history into the matter, but it has been some time since I have been able to spend more than a fleeting weekend with my boy. I try to get in as much time as I can with him while away from my work overseas, but there seems to always be some scheduling issue with his time, as he has a family that stretches across the coast as well as his lengthy participation in school and various sports. All of that aside my time away from the states also limits the options that I have… but not this time. Summer break was in full swing and his mother was over the moon with the idea that I was going to take the little ruffian off of her hands for the spread of days that I did, and I was ECSTATIC to say the least and willing to comply with even the most banal or rules just to make this happen. 12 whole days of cavorting with the man cub at my place in southern Florida, to a house that he had never seen before! Beaches galore, with only father and son to frolic around! (Note: he lives in a different state and I travel to see him.)

-A father / son bond to be re-enforced.

-The time between childhood and the teen years to be participated in so as to fill the memory banks prior to a hormonal dump occurring and “modifying” my kid’s behavior.

-The purpose to what I do being strengthened, with the end goal in sight.

It was the most precious thing that I have done in many years of my life, and I feel blessed for having that time with a boy that is at the cusp of growing into a fine young man.

I truly feel blessed.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

5 Responses to Three week hiatus… over.

  1. ~KC~ says:

    I am glad you got that well-deserved time.
    May it be the first of many many more.

    WOW… btw… this was our 900th comment!!

  2. Buck says:

    Good on ya for doin’ what you just did, OI.

  3. Old Iron says:

    Thanks Buck. I just had to unplug for a minute and set the focus on the child. If the pride in my son had weight mine would rupture the crust of the planet and cause immediate tectonic rearrangement while every volcano on the face of the Earth would erupt simultaneously.

    Needless to say it was an amazing time.

  4. Fay says:

    Welcome back Old Iron, so lovely that you had that precious time with your son.

    • Old Iron says:

      Thanks Fay. I am sorry that I was off the grid for a couple of weeks, but kids come first and the time that I spent with him was WAAAY over due.

Leave a Reply

