Bunch of Twits

Oscar Wilde said: Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.

This couldn’t be any more true than what I experienced this past weekend.
I gave up on Twitter and Empire Avenue.
I gave into it’s superficiality and idiocy of the whole being a ‘social butterfly‘ (or as I called it ‘social whore’) as though that title has any real value in life.
That is until I woke up.
Thank goodness I did.
Because while ‘social‘ (using the term lightly) networking is to bring people of similar interests together while stroking egos and living in one giant egotistical bubble – it has nothing to do with bringing people together who share similar core values.
And THOSE are the people I want in my life.
Interest fades with people and time.
Core values remain unscathed, untouched and continuously solidified with time.

Sadly, it’s become such a staple in modern society that people forget how to interact with REAL people, who lead REAL lives.
Those who hide behind their computer screens rather than living a real life – well, I really don’t want any part in it.
It’s all fake anyways… as are most of the people twittering, twirling and fluttering about in it.
Sad, because it had such potential.
Its a thief of time and emotion… wasted away on virtual strangers who truly, as much as they say they do – have no real investment in you or your well-being. It’s all too opportunistic for my liking.
Oh well!
I prefer living in the REAL world anyhow… !

There is nothing ‘social’ about it – rather it was much more anti-social than I anticipated.
Another lesson learned. Ungracefully.
Oh well. Shit happens!
This cartoon pretty much sums it all up.
Nicely.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

more about “Twouble with Twitters // Current“, posted with vodpod

Nawh.
I’d rather live my life in the most beautiful way possible rather than stealing precious time spent on a computer… doing what is now, so ‘common‘… leaving no REAL mark on the world…

Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.” ~ Cecil Beaton

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

13 Responses to Bunch of Twits

  1. Ah, that’s great.

    Of course you do realize that exactly the same complaints are made fairly regularly about bloggers, right?

    • ~KC~ says:

      I can’t and won’t group ‘bloggers’ in the same bunch as social networking, although I imagine it probably does. I don’t think its applicable as much to bloggers as it once did. Nowadays, blogging is considered much less ‘instant’ whereas, EA, Twitter and even Facebook involves a much more constant interaction, so-called REAL time than, say blogging does.

      Each of the above have their purpose, most certainly. However, I found it incredulous how much stock people put into their status, popularity, and relevance on such sites. I fell into it for a week or so and it took its toll on me. Without going into details, there were casualties, and to a certain extent, I am still angry – but that lessens with each day.

      To me blogging serves a different purpose.
      To me, its not about fluttering about aimlessly while amassing strangers to validate me as a human being on how funny, wonderful or princess like I am.
      Blogging is about putting thought to print. Occasionally (ok, more than occasionally), there are debates. But there is more thought put into it than letting everyone know each and every moment – what mundane activity I am doing, thinking, eating, breathing, belching, twirling etc… just to get some justifaction into my pathetic existence.

      It made me sad.
      And then angry.
      Blogging doesn’t do that to me. While I might get frustrated with it at times, it doesn’t cross that line into the absurd.

  2. Buck says:

    Twitter has its place. I follow several political types, (i.e., congresscritters), people who have a habit of posting great links (Lileks), a couple of friends, a couple o’ serious pundits (for the linkage, again), and a whole HOST of hockey bloggers who use Twitter to announce new posts. I rarely, if ever, Tweet myself. No one gives if a shit if I’m going to Wally-World. And I wouldn’t follow those who might.

  3. Agree with both of you.

    Twitter and I have really failed to hit it off; I’m a lousy “twit.” I have the impression this experience is what you make it, and it is formed in large part by the volume of one’s pool of followers. As this pool expands it becomes an intelligent organism unto itself, like a child’s favorite invisible friend. People have a tough time figuring out how to program their universal remotes, so they tweet about that and in seconds here comes an answer. How that can become addictive, is self-evident.

    I really like the cartoon because it captures the bizarre social habits social networking is bringing out in our young people. And I’ve seen this in them: They mutter what’s on their minds, little or no barrier between brain-and-mouth, not knowing or caring about who is listening. It follows them off the computer, this proclivity of reporting things one-way, not remaining engaged long enough to receive or to digest feedback.

    This cartoon kind of touched on the same problem over the weekend, we thought it was hilarious in a dark sort of way: http://comics.dp.cx/2010.06.13/Zits-2010.06.13.gif

    I do not appreciate this direction in which our society’s going. It seems overall, as the next generations come to maturity, we are bound to place a great deal more weight on interpersonal empathy, devoting ourselves to it, sacrificing important things for it, while becoming far less competent at practicing it meaningfully.

  4. Buck says:

    May I see the manager, please? Coz I have a complaint. Would one of you PLEASE get rid of that damned Snap preview thing? It serves ZERO useful purpose and prevents one from right-clicking and opening a link in a new tab or window, defaulting as it does to “view image.” It only serves to irritate the hell out of the clientele and that ain’t good for bid’niz.

    • ~KC~ says:

      I have no idea how but I will investigate.
      It annoys the shit outta me too.

      • Buck says:

        Cool! Now THIS is customer service! 🙂

      • ~KC~ says:

        hehehe… I THINK I removed it… not sure.
        Let me know if it happens again, ok?

      • KC,

        Might want to look at commenting out the script with the ID “snap_preview_anywhere”. It’s still doing it to me (Mozilla Firefox).

        Kinda falls into the Vuvuzela/Kids-Shopping-Carts/Spinning-Hubcaps/Excessive-Litigation file folder marked “Who in the blue fuck thinks these are swell ideas??”

  5. Dang. Forgot Microsoft Office 2007 menus in that list.

    Tonight at beer-o’-clock my “Obsessive-Compulsive List-Making” category is going to grow by one. I’ll take that rant back to my place where it belongs. Meanwhile, you can be sure the snap preview will be included in the list.

    • ~KC~ says:

      OK must look into it further… I know you can disable it when it shows up… but I will look into how to make it go away, permanently. It can be really annoying!

  6. ~KC~ says:

    ALRIGHT!
    After a wee bit of research (well didn’t have to go too far for it) I disabled the snap-shot feature against this blog. If it happens again – I think you will have to simply select the disable option when the pop-up window appears. I’ve done what I can…

    Hope this helps solve this problem!!!

Leave a Reply

