Farther Up On The Road

I’m in one of those moods… pensive and intro or retro ‘spective – not sure which, perhaps a bit of both.
So one can deduce from that head space – I’m processing something.
On a Monday no less… that can only set the tone for an interesting week ahead.
Or not.
Regardless: my mood blends perfectly with the album I talked about in an old blog/stomping ground I once penned.
The Album is “A Tribute to Bobby” by Mick Hucknall.
And since many a blogger occasionally rehash old blog postings, today is no different for me.
Hope you enjoy!

August 2009 – I was at the airport waiting to come home.
I passed by the Virgin store and heard this amazing blusy/R&Bish/jazzified music and immediately stopped. I just had to find out who this was.

The clerk was this young bubbly lady… who was delighted that I loved what I heard and brought me to where this CD was.  It is RARE that I will buy a CD simply on a brief 30 seconds of hearing just one song… but I have done it in the past… with very little regret.

And this one… absolute NO regret.
It’s freakin’ AMAZING!
Of course – you must be a fan of blues, old skool R&B with hints of smooth Louisianna jazz… and this will sooth your weary soul… Yeah baby!

Now what surprised me the most was… Hucknall.
The one and only Mick Hucknall.
I recognized the name but couldn’t place it.
Until I read the booklet.
He’s the lead singer of Simply Red.
Which is no wonder I love this CD.
I love the vibe of Simply Red.

(…)

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

2 Responses to Farther Up On The Road

  1. Buck says:

    I like Hucknall’s take on the tune. Clapton does a good version of it, too.

    I hope your introspection has less to do with the meaning/intent of the song and more with good memories about stumbling upon great music. 😉

    • ~KC~ says:

      Oh Buck – I just liked the vibe of the music – less about the lyrics (although good – they don’t reflect what’s on my mind!). And yes, Eric Clapton is pretty amazing too – his version is just as good. I am a fan of Mr. Clapton!

Leave a Reply

