Sh*t My Dad Says

Buy The Book

Every once in a while, I find a book that I simply must recommend, one that I believe the masses would enjoy, not gender specific. 

Last fall, I recommended “How To Be Canadian.”  I still chuckle at it.  Great little book. I still say you should read it, if you haven’t. Heck, I got Old Iron to and he laughed!
Anyhow, I totally digressed there.
Back on track…
This time, I am going to recommend a different book.
It’s called: “Sh*t My Dad Says” by Justin Halpern.
His bio goes as such: 

After being dumped by his longtime girlfriend, twenty-eight-year-old Justin Halpern found himself living at home with his seventy-three-year-old dad. Sam Halpern, who is “like Socrates, but angrier, and with worse hair,” has never minced words, and when Justin moved back home, he began to record all the ridiculous things his dad said to him: 

Pick your furniture like you pick a wife: It should make you feel comfortable and look nice, but not so nice that if someone walks past it they want to steal it. 

Do people your age know how to comb their hair? It looks like two squirrels crawled on their heads and started fucking. 

The worst thing you can be is a liar….Okay, fine, yes, the worst thing you can be is a Nazi, but then number two is liar. Nazi one, liar two. 

More than a million people now follow Mr. Halpern’s philosophical musings on Twitter, and in this book, his son weaves a brilliantly funny, touching coming-of-age memoir around the best of his quotes. An all-American story that unfolds on the Little League field, in Denny’s, during excruciating family road trips, and, most frequently, in the Halperns’ kitchen over bowls of Grape-Nuts, Sh*t My Dad Says is a chaotic, hilarious, true portrait of a father-son relationship from a major new comic voice. 

Justin & His Dad

Now for those of you who aren’t into buying books (that’s so passé, KC – I know I know… ), you can follow him here or on Twitter by clicking here or on his Facebook Page, here

But for those of you who are real, genuine book lovers and love the hard cover/paper back books – definitely worth buying the book.  My cousin showed it to me while at her ‘cottage’ this past weekend.  And yes – let it be noted: it’s crude.  It’s brash. It’s not even kid friendly, really.  But this old man will steal your heart and make you laugh out loud, and see the wisdom thru his harsh ways. 

The best part of this whole experience for Justin is (my personal opinion): a sitcom staring William Shatner is being developed about these two characters, Bill as the dad. Perhaps this might be my new favorite TV show yet… 
How the American networks will weave around the cursing shall prove to be interesting – and perhaps might take away the authenticity of the real, Sam Halpern. 
Time will tell – but I am very interested in this project.
Hope you find it as good as I do! 

In the meantime, happy reading… good laughter… and maybe a tear or two along the way!

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

4 Responses to Sh*t My Dad Says

  1. Buck says:

    How the American networks will weave around the cursing shall prove to be interesting…

    I doubt it will be interesting; “boring” is the more likely outcome. We get entirely too worked up over a little fucking profanity. And by “we” I mean the culture in general and our cultural arbiters, specifically. Just to be clear.

    But you are SO right about “Shit My Dad Says”… too funny, and reminds me entirely TOO much of my father. I haven’t read the book but I might. 😉

    • ~KC~ says:

      Its interesting that in the US – ‘they’ (the networks) get worked up over profanity rather than the overly sexualized undertones of many a geared-for ‘tween/teen’ shows.

      I know here in Canada – its a lot more liberal in that sense… but it does come with its classification system.

      I don’t know how this book/content will translate on TV. But I am looking forward to seeing how they attempt to make it work.

  2. t i m says:

    I’ve been reading their twitter feeds for a lil’ while & its hella funny. I heard a TV reviewer recently who has see a pilot tape of the proposed network show & he wasn’t overly enthusiastic about it.

    I’m guessing it’d translate best on cable like HBO, Showtime etc as they’d be no censoring.

Leave a Reply

