Whoring Cyber-Style

It’s official.
I’ve become a social network whore.
As if blogging and Facebook weren’t enough, I had to go to the dark side and sign up for Empire Avenue and Twitter.
Why is beyond me… but I totally blame VonnieGirl – it’s not like I have all this extra time on my hands!  Good lord almighty.

I have been giving serious consideration to quitting Facebook with my concerns over their privacy policies that leaves users totally exposed unless you stay on top of it 24/7.  Thanks but no thanks.  What’s keeping me there are the myriads of friends I have that I thoroughly enjoy but don’t subscribe to blogging, Twitter and now, Empire Avenue.  Who knows – but with time, someone will come out with another ‘Facebook’ that will address all the privacy concerns, everyone will flock to it… and we will all repeat the vicious cycle that is, cyber networking & privacy concerns.

Now, I feel like I need to walk around with the scarlet letter “W” around my neck.  Speaking of scarlet letters: made me think of this cartoon… completely off topic but I figured all y’all Conservatives out there would get a chuckle…

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

4 Responses to Whoring Cyber-Style

  1. Cdn_Relic says:

    I don’t understand all the panic about privacy invasion on Facebook. I find it a great place to keep in touch with friends and family and also to see the exchange of family pictures. My rule of thumb that has always protected me is NEVER EVER EVER put in writing anything you might not want some one to see, because sooner or later, they will see it, Murphy’s Law. That goes for Blogs or Diaries etal. If it is in print, it’s no longer guaranteed private, anywhere!

    • ~KC~ says:

      I’m not worried about content on a blog. I know the ramifications of putting thoughts out there. But on a site that gives your information away without your consent, by default – is NOT cool with me. And they make it difficult to keep up with the constant changes – where a translator is required to understand the language.

      While some don’t care about that sort of information being put out there – I care. I take issue with their policies and lack of caring about privacy.

  2. Buck says:

    I gave Facebook a 90-day trial run and then left. I see the “reconnect” point but beyond that? I just don’t need ridiculous virtual gifts and dumbass invitations to join someone’s Mafia gang or take a useless quiz. There’s more but I won’t flog dead draft animals.

    I DO like Twitter, tho. I don’t tweet much but I use it to stay on top of several blogs and the doings/opinions of a few politicos… it runs in a mini-window in my g-mail tab

    • ~KC~ says:

      I am enjoying Twitter far more than I expected… and have found many an interesting blogger on there. Been updating the Blogroll with a few of them. Nice to find non-political but intelligent content out there, as, although some are educational – it gets boring real fast!

      Not sold on the whole Empire Avenue yet… will give a week before I decide… should I stay or should I go…

Leave a Reply

