Conversations: Glenn Beck and Ann Coulter

KC,

-You of all people know that I have some pretty conservative / consumerist / capitalist leanings; I like making craploads of money, I like SPENDING craploads of money, and am also a big fan of keeping said money until I feel like making it move, not having that movement dictated to me by an outside agency “for the common good”. Alright, scratch that: I am at heart just a greedy bastard that doesn’t like to believe that out of the 12 hours I work a day 4 of them are to be spent working for the direct benefit of someone else and not into my imported beer fund or to go towards purchasing a panda costume.

Personal views aside though, I have a confession to make. I know, it is not going to really catch you unawares, but….. well, here goes.

I like Glenn Beck and Ann Coulter.

Gasp! Yeah, what a shocker, right? Thing is I think that you may be mistaking the primary reason that I like them.

I do agree with a bulk, if not all of the points that both make on a constant basis, and share many political views of each. They have a ring of truth about what they say, which is more than I can say for some of the other political pundits out there. Thing is those are asides to the real reason that I purchase their books and occasionally catch them on the telly.

I like them because they are entertaining, NOT because they are inherently conservative.

-Have you ever opened a book by Mr. Beck? The things are full of so much varied content that it is just as entertaining to (and yes I am going to say it) check out the hilarious pictures that he puts in and the funny infographics as it is to read the full content. His books also contain an element that other political diatribes I have read do not, and that is acutal humor. Everything from small chuckles to full out belly laughs I have experienced from reading his recent publication. The man is honestly a really funny guy, but instead of using chortling references to the ineptitude of himself or his children, or making fun of white people, he uses the conservative political approach to get that humor across. Can’t fault the guy; it has made him a popular, influential man that has a huge fan base and, let’s face it, a ton of cash. His product sells and sells well, even if many disagree with the packaging that he uses for his delivery.

Ann Coulter is like his older, more acidic sister, but has the same approach. Her books are actually quite funny in their own right, but with more of a biting, mocking humor than what Beck uses, and are a bit dryer, but still an enjoyable read. Ms. Coulter is not as jaw-droppingly funny in her live interviews, but she doesn’t have a show now, does she?

So there you have it, my reasoning behind liking both Glenn Beck and Ann Coulter. Not solely because of their political views, but because out of all of the other published pundits that I have read… they simply make me laugh and keep me entertained.

(Note: This line of thought started after reading this over at Weasel Zippers.)

Any thoughts?

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

Dear Old Iron,

 

While I appreciate (I say that very loosely) your attempts to poke me from Nigeria and get under my skin… I would like to take this opportunity to correct you on a misconceptionyou appear to have of me:

 

I don’t dislike Glenn Beck.

SHOCK!!!

HORROR!!

Damn.

 

Sorry to burst that bubble of yours there, friend.  In fact, I’ve been known to listen/watch to him more than most other political pundit.  I appreciate his approach on subjects – even if I don’t always agree with him.  The fact is, he’s smart about it.  He’s logical.  Far less idiotic and crass, rude, ignorant, abrasive than your Ann Coulter.

 

You can keep her.

I dislike everything that she represents … and her tactics.

You can worship at her alter.

Like many Conservative/Republicans do, while ignoring the fact that she hides her racist and bigoted views behind her tactics, ‘to make a point.’

But I refuse to.  HELL NAH.

 

I’ll continue to watch and listen to, when the urge hits me, Glenn Beck.  I liked his radio show on satellite radio, when I had it.  I used to watch him on TV with my father… sometimes against my own will.  The fact that he relates and considers himself more of a Libertarian than a Conservative… well that makes him even more appealing to me than any of your other demi-conservative-gods.  I prefer his approach on subjects and hard issues.  I understand and am more willing to give an ear and be open minded, with that approach.

 

While I think you rock the casbah, I must point out again, that you failed to rile me up.

This time.

Nice try though!

 

Sincerely yours,

KC

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

11 Responses to Conversations: Glenn Beck and Ann Coulter

  1. Old Iron says:

    Heh heh… Nah, I really wasn’t trying to rile you up, I was just trying to point out that they are both entertaining in their own right and thus the reasons for their individual sales figures. The thing that I was actually wanting to see was your unrivaled loathing of Ann Coulter, and you never fail to deliver in that area.

    Cheers.

    -No harm done then!

  2. Buck says:

    FWIW… I DON’T like either one. That said, I bought one of Coulter’s books a few years back and mostly enjoyed it. I enjoyed the dirty looks I got from my fellow travelers on BART (there’s a pun in there, and an appropriate one, too) more, though. The thing(s) I don’t like about Beck/Coulter have everything to do with style. I find them belittling, overly sarcastic, and all too willing to take the cheap shot. I consider myself more of an William F. Buckley, Jr Old-School conservative, which is to say the kinda guy who could beat the shit out of political opponents in an informed debate and go have a drink with ’em afterward. I suppose Beck and Coulter would offer the fight-fire-with-fire counter argument and point to the idiots at dKos and the other bottom-dwellers on the Left, but I don’t like THEM, either. I tend to take a dim view of ANYONE who chooses not to observe basic etiquette. I know… Old Fart. So be it.

    • Old Iron says:

      Hey Buck, it takes all types. I for one also enjoy Buckley’s writing, and you are correct that he is a gentleman’s pundit of the classic “whoop the shit out of you and pull you from the ground, dust you off, and grab a pint” kind.

      -Even I have to say that he is a limited breed.

      • ~KC~ says:

        While I don’t know the name William F. Buckley… I would say based on the observations made here… I would probably enjoy listening to him as well.

    • ~KC~ says:

      and Buck… your observations here… are worth a lot, even when we disagree.
      You’re good people.
      Even if you lean on the conservative side 😉

  3. Cdn_Relic says:

    Hard to believe Old Iron that KC actually did sit down with me on many nights and watch Glenn Beck when he was CNN, isn’t it? lol, but that she did, and then we moved, and so did Glenn, to FOX, and I don’t get Fox tv in my part of Canada, so I have to read him on line now. Miss his antics but I will admit, he did more to open my eyes to American politics than anyone else. It took me a while to listen to him, thinking at first that he was a raving lunatic, lol, but I soon learned to listen to the words and not the man and thus, learned a lot, a whole lot! I don’t always agree with him on everything but for the most part I hear where he is coming from. America needs people like him to keep the politicians in line, if that is possible. But I do fear that somewhere along the way, someone is going to take him out for his exposes as there is no other way to silence him, no matter how hard they try, and they TRY, as again evidenced by Weiner and his tactics this week. And yes, he can be very funny, I admit sometimes a real clown, but a clown with a message non-the-less.

  4. t i m says:

    Ann Coulter’s work has yet to make it on UK airwaves as far as I’m aware, so I can’t comment on her, but I did chortle uncontrollably when I read the disingenuous “Glenn Beck” and “logic” mentioned in the same sentence.

    Anyway, your politics is your politics so I respect that.

Leave a Reply

