I just can’t bring myself to do the actual research.

To open, a little illustration:

Today I made the mistake of hitting a Fark discussion thread about some little androgynous teen heart throb that is the new child pop sensation of the week that of course I have never heard of, but seems to be quite popular. After seeing a couple of photos posted in said thread I had to wonder; when did young women stop swooning over the rugged masculine man and start going doe-eyed over a dude that looks like a little girl?

-And now I have that Aerosmith song stuck in my head. love it.

Has the curriculum of appeal been changed since the last time I was introduced to it? I seem to recall that I was taught to visually be attracted to a woman that actually looked like one and not one that looks like a boy with tits.

Exhibit A:

-The ever-lovely Salma Hayek. Now SHE is a real woman, and aged to perfection to boot! What male in his right (or wrong) mind would turn this away at the door? Also all of the guys around the shop that I asked all said that she is a knockout and would look lovely draped across their individual crotches wearing nothing but a smile.

Dudes apparently “got it”; we still like women.

Women on the other hand, of a certain age… What gives? Is it the apparent lack of sexual organs that excites you, or his / its fashion sense?

I’ll never understand this planet.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

7 Responses to I just can’t bring myself to do the actual research.

  1. Cdn_Relic says:

    over the years, the fashion/design/modeling industry has been led and controlled by gays and lesbians with their likes/tastes being foisted upon the public to the point where their style is now the accepted “norm”, and all other tastes as passe and out of vogue, with today’s youth lapping it all up as truth. I am not homophobic, but I am inclined to agree with you very much. Give me the old style any day, where a man is man and a woman is a woman, curves, boobs and all,

    • ~KC~ says:

      …led and controlled by gays and lesbians… really dad?? LOL… I disagree. I mean take 20-30 yrs ago – media dictated a different version of beauty. It’s media driven… not sexual preference driven. And I tend to agree with Old Iron on this one – our preferences evolve with maturity, not based on what we are told to like.

      Mind you… I’ve NEVER known you to like what the media told you to like… which is something I’ve always appreciated about you and would LOVE to find in a potential relationship – but I would tred carefully with making such a statement…

  2. Old Iron says:

    Thing is this topic has been beaten to death so many times that it just boils down to “me older, me likey curves” vs. “me younger, me likey androgyny”. I don’t know if it is more of a specific influence on a person’s taste as it is age. When I was a yoot I just saw women with different eyes then I do now; I remember a time when I thought a 25 year old was a spinster, and now you wouldn’t catch me chasing that age bracket due to their inherent lack knowledge about life. The only thing that I can truly say about this is that even though there is an age variance to what one finds attractive, there is so much variety WITHIN that age variance that… well, I’m not bored yet!

  3. Buck says:

    …and aged to perfection to boot!

    Yes. Double-yes. That said, my tastes haven’t changed all that much over the years. I used to catch one helluva lot of flack from my peers when I was whoring around southeast Asia because of my preference for what I called “substantial” women. Which is to say women with curves in all the right places and a nicely rounded belly… just to name one attribute. The boys (in EVERY sense of the term) just didn’t geddit. I’ll stop now before I dig this hole waaay too deep. šŸ˜‰

    • ~KC~ says:

      Operative word: boys

      … not to bash men who prefer a more adrongenous type woman… because we all have our preferences, even us women… but as a woman: curves are indeed a beautiful thing! I look at icons like Raquel Welch or or Sofia Lauren – who aren’t stick figures as stunningly gorgeous – and there is seemingly a lack of those beauties today. There are SOME… but not to many!

  4. Old Iron says:

    You also do know that any excuse to post a pic of Salma Hayek is a good one, right?

    • ~KC~ says:

      You mean… any excuse to post a pic of Salma with lots of cleavage showing is a good one, right? It’s what I thought, you boob-man!

      You know, its refreshing to see REAL boobs on a Hollywood starlet…

Leave a Reply

