At Your Own Risk…

Old Iron threatened me that I had better post something or else… so here it goes…

So while most Canadians are either fretting over the upcoming HST implementation in various provinces, finding a national bird to rival our neighbours great bald eagle or praying to the hockey gods that the Canucks or Habs bring home Stanley…
I find myself wondering WHAT THE HELL was in the Ontario’s water last fall that lead to 75% or more of my friends popping out babies in rapid sequence, vying for top place on the list of the craziest baby names out there!!
Holy mother of insanity!
Trust me – I’m drinking bottled water from here on out!!!!!!
I don’t trust even the filtered Brita water in these here parts!
Jeebus.
It’s making my head spin.
It most definitely was a cold summer/fall in Ontario… and we all can figure out without the help of diagrams what they were doing to keep themselves warm.
Welcome back to Ontario, KC.

The move went as expected.
Chandler is resting comfortably but temporarily with my aunt, being spoiled rotten with love, attention and new treats (the silly cat is so domesticated he doesn’t even recognize a fish for what it is… food.  Nope.  Rather – he’s discovered that processed fish food tastes much better than the ACTUAL fish and begs for their pellets as a treat.  Stupid cat.  Man I miss him silly!!!) … after a pretty tumultuous airplane ride that had me silently begging for any and all kinds of anti-anxiety drugs available under the sun, intravenously. Yes. We both survived. 
Chandler did much better than I did… surprisingly enough.
I have way more grey hairs than I care to admit at this time.
I’m living temporarily in the basement of a B&B, cooking with a hotplate & microwave and have the choice of two bathrooms to get ready in the morning.
I got wheels to zoom around, out and about… making the most of the best Mennonite Market available in Ontario – only 5 mins away.
All courtesy of my company who made it all part of my relocation package.
I’m still on a search for a humble place to lay my head and bring Chandler home to.
The moving company will store my crap stuff until I have a place of my own.
Renting.  (It’s soooo much more affordable here than in BC.  How I made it happen while in BC is mind-boggling to me)
Not gonna buy … not right now. 
Later. Maybe.

My goodness, I missed Ontario.
Whudda thunk possible?
Most certainly, not me.

I started work almost immediately.
I didn’t see the point in waiting, prolonging the inevitable.
The company is a perfect match for what I am attempting to accomplish in my career.
I’ll let you know what that is, once I have it figured out.
They gave me a big ass cubicle.
They don’t micro-manage.
They operate on trust.
Have very archaic processes and procedures… this should prove to be interesting!
And they’ve already caught onto a unique feature I possess: my ability to get people to confess their deepest and darkest secrets.  I’ve become the confessional… a priest of sorts. 
Except I have boobs… so not sure if that is really appropriate to compare myself to a priest.  Most priests have penises and like little alter boys.
Meh. Whatever. 
I’ve heard more juicy gossip in my first week than I did all year while working at VANOC.  Oh, nothing REALLY inflammatory or disparaging, unlike past places of employment.
So far, so good.
Making mental notes along the way, storing away critical information to be used against them at a later date… if necessary (*insert evil laugh here. don’t choke on it either*)
I’m well on my way to my goal of world domination.
Remember: my world is very small and nonsensical.
That should sum it all up, nicely, in a pretty little package for y’all.
With a bow on top.
Pretty, eh?!
Yeah.  I think so too.

What can I say, really? Its’ been pretty surreal honestly.
Sometimes I have to go back to look at my pictures of Vancouver to say, yes… the last year & half really did happen.  I was there.
And while I am now living in a completely new city than before, many things that I blocked out have come rushing back at me.
Some good.
Some not so good.
But I am happy to be back.
Because apparently, Ontario: is home.
Well… that is, until it’s not anymore.
And in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy some homemade perogies and cabbage rolls (although I make some pretty kick ass rolls myself), the biggest Oktoberfest celebration in North America (ziggy zoggy ziggy zoggy oye oye oye!!!), and what I feel to be normal human and socially acceptable behaviour (well I wouldn’t say doing the drunken Elephant dance at Oktoberfest is ‘normal’ but fun it is!!!).
Yes.
I am back in Ontario.
Thanks for the memories Vancouver… but I gots to get outta there
Woowee!  Pretty you might be… but COME ON!! Seriously?
Ok.

I’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming of pissing y’all off with my crazy non-Conservative thoughts and beliefs on various hot topics… shortly.
Right now, I’m to busy being happy!
Because I’m home.  I’m back where I belong.
With way more grey hairs than I had before I left.

Betcha Come to Oktoberfest Now!!

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

10 Responses to At Your Own Risk…

  1. Cdn_Relic says:

    Having already lived in Kitchener/Waterloo, sometime ago, I can only add that you are truly living in one of Ontario’s most unique cities. The Ammish/Mennonite (ergo, German)lifestyle that envelopes the area only adds to its uniqueness. I know you’ll love it and will make the most of it,,, All the best!

  2. Buck says:

    Congrats on the successful move, KC. I figgered you’d be back… eventually. 😀

    It’s ALL on the Habs now. I shall be rooting for the Bleu, Blanc et Rouge ce soir.

    • ~KC~ says:

      Sorry Crosby disappointed the Bleu, Blanc et Rouge hier soir mon ami!

      • Buck says:

        Oh, I think the Habs were quite pleased with Sid’s non-performance, KC. I was quite possibly the ONLY guy in New Mexico who grinned, hooted, and hollered when the final buzzer went off in the Igloo. Well, there might have been a few Habs fans in ABQ on a biz trip, or sumthin’. But it ain’t much of a stretch to think I was the only guy in P-Ville watching. 😀

  3. Gordon says:

    Being finished with a move is a great feeling. Naps are in order.

    • ~KC~ says:

      Not finished yet my friend. Still have to find a place to call home. Once that happens – I’ll be drinking copious amounts of alcohol and THEN take a very long nap!

  4. Fay says:

    Great to hear you survived the move in one piece. Good luck on the home hunt front!

    • ~KC~ says:

      Thank you! Signed a lease to a nice place yesterday… so I am renting for the next year and have a place that I can call home… for now!

  5. Old Iron says:

    …And now that we are both back behind the wheel of this blog (I was just in Warri participating in yet more debauchery)there should be fewer gaps in our contributions.

Leave a Reply

