Meanwhile…

Pebbles & Chandler

Sorry for the silence people.  It’s just a hard time at the moment for me and Old Iron is on yet another off site trip to Wari, where he promises me that he’s got a great blog posting for us when he gets back.

I’m dealing with heartbreak and trying to purge indiscriminately as much as possible all the useless stuff that serve no purpose.  I’m getting closer to the big move and there are many items that need to be tied up and dealt with.  Not sure how I will do it but I will.  But its hard to do thru the tears and heartbreak.  I did find a no-kill animal society (Action for Animals) that took in Pebbles… to facilitate the adoption process for me.  Giving her up was the hardest thing I’ve done in a long time.  I am reassured after meeting the director of the society who took in Pebbles, into her own home… the organization is one of the best I’ve seen & dealt with in a long time.  All I can say is that I was showered with love and affection by the other cats waiting for adoption and she made me feel better and reassured me about my decision to give her up.

The problem is the transition period for my other cat and I.  Chandler, is my 13 yrs orange & white tabi.  We’ve been together for 12 yrs this coming summer.  While those two fought for my attention all the time, they loved each other.  When I managed, in between sobs, to get Pebbles into the carrier… he immediately went to the carrier to figure out why.  They called for each other thru the gate, paws reaching in.  That made me bawl even harder.  And when I mustered enough courage to  pick up the carrier to leave… he jumped directly on the roof of the carrier, meowing at me.  He wasn’t having it – whatever it was I was doing to Pebbles, he simply wasn’t having.  I pushed him off – twice.  And when I finally returned … he went about the apartment calling for her.  And he still is.  Right now, he’s sulking, as am I.  This is a very difficult transition for the both of us.  I haven’t slept well, if at all, in 3 days and continue to fight the urge to run back to get her and figure out a way to make it work, in spite of the honest assessment I already made that concluded that the most loving thing to do it to give her up.

Guilt is a terrible thing.  And I feel very guilty.  I know it will ease with time.  I try to keep myself busy but the tears continue to flow.  I miss her already.   I am hopeful that she will find a loving home, with loving adoptive parents and have other feline friends to love her as Chandler & I did.

We will return to our regular programming very soon.  Again… please forgive our silence.  It is with reason.  But in the meantime, all you animal lovers out there… please support or sponsor your no-kill animal shelters in your area.  They receive no, or minimal, government funding and rely solely on the sponsorship of loving individuals.  They provide an incredible service… and need help to continue to do so.

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

5 Responses to Meanwhile…

  1. Buck says:

    How sad. My heart is with you, KC.

  2. ~KC~ says:

    Thanks guys. I’ve been checking in on her without stalking the house… and although she’s still a bit hesitant, she’s doing ok. She’s eating and socializing with some of the older cats that have been adopted by the director of Action for Animals. Nikki (the director) promised me she will keep Pebbles with her for some time still, in case my situation changes where I can possibly take her back.

    I’ve been super worried about Chandler since he’s been depressed and moping. He wasn’t eating but this morning he wander over to his bowl and ate a bit. We’re adjusting. It’s hard but we’re all making due, as is Pebbles. Nikki is awesome at keeping me in the loop about Pebbles and how she’s doing.

    Thanks for the offer Daphne. That’s super sweet of you… but I have faith in Nikki and that she will place Pebbles with a loving family, should I not be able to make magic happen. And in the meantime, Pebbles is in excellent hands, with loving cats to keep her company… and she will do beautifully well there. It’s me and Chandler that are hurting the most… but we’ve got each other.

Leave a Reply

