Update

Lil Ms. Pebbles

So while Old Iron is off to Wari on business for the week, I am in the process of signing more paper than that of a new homeowner… I officially accepted a job offer back in Ontario with a major aerospace and defence contractor as a Senior Contract Administrator (yes, this is the same company that initially overlooked me (read here) but they had a change of heart, to my advantage).  It’s an excellent company with excellent growth opportunities, worldwide.  While I was contemplating other offers, this was THE job & company that I was aiming for and the offer was to good to pass up.  They are moving me (packing, moving & unpacking me) and also putting me up for up to one month until I find a place of my own.  There is pressure to find something before hand but I am limited in funds and time.  I must be out of my apartment by the end of April. The current plan is to be in Ontario for early May and I would start work the first week of May.  That is the plan, as it stands today.  I am relying on Google Earth and Kijiji for apartment searches – eying up a few industrial type lofts but I won’t rent anything sight unseen.  I don’t have the luxury to do so at this time either.

And in the midst of it all, I am attempting to find a new home for my 3 yrs old Tabi, Pebbles.  She requires much more attention than I can give her and with the amount of travel that the new position will require from me, the most loving thing I can do is to place her with a family that can give her what she needs.  That is painful for me.  She really is a sweetheart but deserves more. Since she was born, she’s NEVER eaten dry food.  In fact, much to the dismay and insult of my older cats, she used to think it was the litter.  But that was quickly remedied!  She will now cackle at you to play floor hockey with the dry food (a true Canadian cat) and will only eat fish or seafood pâté.  Princess she is… and I have tried all my might to change that but to no avail.  She is one little stubborn kitty!  I’ve had a few inquiries about her but apparently I ask far too many questions of the potential new owners – apparently asking them about their previous pet ownership experiences is to much for some.  Oh well.  I am not just going to send her to just anyone and I need reassurances.

So everything is happening quickly.  So forgive our silence.  Old Iron is on a week long assignment in Wari (Nigeria) and I am trying not to hit panic mode.  While the company is handling most of the arrangements, I am still challenged in a few areas that are causing me a little bit of distress.  But like all things, I can handle it.  With change comes a lot of unknowns… and with unknowns comes a bit of uncertainty.  It will all come together in the end, of that I have no doubt.  While we will attempt to keep up with the blog, the posting might be a bit intermittent over the next few weeks.

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

10 Responses to Update

  1. Buck says:

    Ah, relocation. Exciting, stressful, pregnant with opportunity and chaos. I have a few of these tee shirts. Congrats on the new job and good luck with the house-hunting, KC… both for yourself and Pebbles. It’ll all work out!

  2. Fay says:

    Wow! Congratulations on getting that job KC, what great news, you must be very pleased.

    Sorry to hear that you will be leaving Vancouver but the magic of the world wide webs will keep us connected! Good luck with the move and finding a home for the “Princess.”

  3. Ah – having to leave a fur-baby behind can’t be easy – especially a Princess. So discerning, so demanding.

    Good luck with everything!

  4. lady red says:

    Congratulations ~KC~! I’m very happy for you! 🙂

  5. ~KC~ says:

    Thanks guys!

  6. Gordon says:

    Congratulations on the new job. It’s nice to hear good employment news.

    I cannot offer help in the cat placement, because I am already fully served in that department. Good luck!

  7. Daphne says:

    Major congratulations, KC!!!

    I’m so happy that you got the position you dreamed of landing, you must be feeling pretty wonderful. Moving across country can be stressful, but having the company pack and pick up the tab is the best way I’ve ever made a major move.

    I’d love to take your cat, but my husband would kill me if I added one more to my menagerie of five. Good luck finding a nice home for her. I would be freaking out if I had to place any of mine.

  8. t i m says:

    wow, congrats on the new gig 🙂

  9. alison says:

    Congrats on the new job. A very exciting move! Hope you find a good home for the cat too.
    x

  10. Old Iron says:

    You should see the B&B they are going to be putting her up in. Apparently they are trying to impress in her that they want her on board.

Leave a Reply

