There is a different life out there…

Hmmmm…. How to start this. I could do the “I broke free from prison and the world is now shiny and NEW!!!” thing, but that would not be right. Let’s see, maybe the “alright United States, good to see you out there, don’t forget to tip your waitresses” approach.

-Nah. That would sound too functionally retarded and to a level of mental deficiency to be labeled as “vegetative state”. Common for me, but meh.

Might as well start it out with this.

Good to be back.

Some pretty amazing things have happened with the transition from this pseudo-life that I lead out in Africa to this, well, pseudo-life that I lead here. I had a chance to spend some time with family and friends back in my home town, which is always a pleasant experience, but strangely TAXING, if you are to believe it… Was able to see the spawn of the loins (who actually answers to that name in an “Oh DAD” kind of way), which is always a beautiful time, and am now posted up in the bunker here in south Florida with good company that insists that I need to adjust my weight through massive intakes of hand crafted, works of edible master pieces, fanTASTIC food to the point that my water displacement would match a supercarrier if I and said super carrier were to berth ourselves in the ocean five blocks from my house. Yeah, we have also had some rain down here, but trust me in this it is NOT the rains in Africa.

-The rain smells better here for one thing. -As do the people.

All in all the brain has not, as it has been known to do do, shut off the work part as I have been known to do when crossing from their unfair shores to our docile, “love thy brother” shores that we have here. This time around there was no mental treatment of what I do for a living as some sort of psychological trauma that needs to be tamped down into some bottomless mind pit. No, this time I decided to do something different, something HIGHLY experimental. I decided to take with me everything that I have done and known in Africa, good and bad, and let it meet the other guy that I am back home.

To say that they shook hands and had a drink is an understatement. I now think that they are sitting back, whiskey and ice in hand, and are trying to figure out what is next. -Trying to find a common ground to move forward on.

What is next? I think…. I think that it is going to be amazing. In the mean time…

Cheers mates. Thanks.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

11 Responses to There is a different life out there…

  1. Buck says:

    Welcome home, Old Iron. I’ve been around the block a few times and know what it’s like to get back to a “new normal.” Enjoy!

  2. Fay says:

    Yes, welcome home. Have a fabulous time and enjoy your family and friends.

    I’ll change the name of your link on our blog to Naked Wrting.

    Cheers!

  3. Fay says:

    Make that “Naked Writing”

  4. alison says:

    Welcome back..and indeed…enjoy

  5. alison says:

    You look like Leo di Caprio in that photo (or your mate does if that’s not you)

  6. Qwatcher2 says:

    Hmm..taxing to be with family? Hey, we all have to do thoses family obligation things. Of course I’m not the best at staying in touch or visiting with my parents myself, but I’ll always make time for my son 🙂

    • ~KC~ says:

      And if possible… I’ll tag along with Old Iron on the next rotation for a visit (if possible)… taking you up on your invitation!

  7. Old Iron says:

    I know Mom, it’s just hard to do it RIGHT after I get back. I’ll put a buffer of time between when I get back and when I get up there next time.

Leave a Reply

