Naked Writing

Old Iron

KC and I were just talking, and after reading Andy’s and Alison’s blogs today about two different facets of the same issue, we have come to a conclusion as to the true definition of this quaint little experiment that we are partaking in.

Yep, we think it is time for us to truly label this thing for what it is. Not the actual “compare / contrast” identification that we initially placed on this effort; our minute (but not INSIGNIFICANT) group of readers have pointed out in our comments quite literally that this painted on identification is inaccurate. Why, you ask?

-Unlike other contrasting points of view that are introduced into an environment such as this… WE ACTUALLY HAVE INTELLIGENT, RATIONAL, AND EMOTIONLESS DEBATES OVER SAID ISSUES AT THE TABLE. Yeah, there might be the occasional tussle, but at the end of the day we, based off of just literally raw interaction, have a humane and well-meaning interchange of ideas between two minds that are just a couple of degrees on the compass off from the same point that leads up home.

Different ideas, same goal.

Thus the need to change the overall name of this slow motion train wreck. We are literally not a compare and contrast thing at our core; much more so we are a couple of friends that have different viewpoint within established boundaries. No need to wound with an idea that can be debated through rational discourse; no need to attack when discussion can solve.

KC sayz:

So when Old Iron broached the subject a while ago: why don’t we co-host a blog? with great hesitation, I cautiously agreed, but about what? I mean had you known us in our previous blog-lives, it truly would have been a ‘beauty & the beast’ collage of thoughts and ideologies… and yet, it clearly works. Our current format is unique, as is our friendship and our ever growing views on humanity.  Strange, but whodda thunk??LOL…

I’ve been blogging for … gawd, I don’t even know how long anymore.  It’s been YEARS, maybe going on 8-9 yrs now.  Blogging has been cathartic for me… Allowed me to take a checkered and troubled past and articulate emotion and thought in a fashion that allowed for growth and acceptance.  It just so happened to be in public.  But really, what better way to do it and do it honestly, than to do pure and soulful naked writing?

Far less hesitant and cautious, I am thoroughly enjoying this evolutionary process of co-hosting a blog with a friend who, is fundamentally and inherently different than I, but the established boundaries means that instead of it being heated, ugly and one-minded – we have a well rounded, robust blog that – simply put: WORKS.

And … while our readership might be small, it is a strong one that brings intelligent and differing thought to the table – far better than mindless commentators. Quality over quantity – much better in my books. And with that, I will conclude by saying: y’all welcome to sit at our table anytime.  I’m not a too bad of a chef… just ask Old Iron. ;0)

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

8 Responses to Naked Writing

  1. alison says:

    It’s a great blog. I’ve had some interesting discussions here too. Nice to see photos of your good selves. I also think that’s very brave. I’d post some pics but for the resident nutter I have on my blog. His comments are expunged daily but all the same Id sooner stay a little incognito. Anyway I digress…congrats on an excellent blog.

    • ~KC~ says:

      Oh for many years I was the same way Alison but I’ve loosened up a bit on this since co-hosting with Old Iron. I’m still cautious about what I post and how much of it I post but what is shared in ways of pics thus far, is alright with me.

      Now I’ve had psycho’s leaving comments on previous blogs in the past that had me hidding in the bushes for a long time… but somehow I doubt that will happen over here: Old Iron won’t let that happen… at least not for long!

      And thanks for the compliment… we enjoy your blog as well.

  2. Buck says:

    You guys DO run an excellent blog. I’m very glad I found ya. As A sez: nice pics. It’s good to be able to visualize who one is talking with… although I realize that sometimes discretion is the better part of valor.

  3. Gordon says:

    Well, okay, but don’t be changing the name of the blog too often, see, because I do have stuff to do, don’tcha know.

Leave a Reply

