Need a Light?

Unveiling of the Torch at VANOC 12-Feb-09

Height of torch: 945 mm or 37 inches
Weight: 1,600 or 3.5 pounds
Fuel: butane mixture
Length of flame outlet: 300 mm or nearly 12 inches
Materials: stainless steel, aluminum, sheet moulding compound.
Operating time: 12 minutes
Torch designer and manufacturer: Bombardier
Uniform manufacturer: Hudson’s Bay Company
Uniform designers: Vivienne Lu and Tu Ly
Number to be produced: 12,000
Length of torch relay: 45,000 kilometres
Duration of torch relay: 106 days

Start of torch relay: Oct. 30, 2009
End of torch relay: Feb. 12, 2010

Each host country gets to design its own Olympic Torch, but the torch must be:
– approximately 1 kg in weight,
– be able to stay alight in winds up to 65 km/hour
– be able to stay alight through a typical downpour

Canada is home to both the longest and shortest relays in one country. The 2010 Olympic Torch Relay is the longest (12,000 Torchbearers carry the flame 300-400 m each, over 106 days and touching 1,020 communities). The 1976 Montreal Relay (Ottawa to Montreal) was the shortest

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

6 Responses to Need a Light?

  1. t i m says:

    awesome 🙂

    • ~KC~ says:

      Yes indeed. I remember that day was pretty AWESOME. That is also the day I got my picture taken with Cindy Klassen who was with VANOC for the unveiling of the torch!

  2. Andy says:

    OK, this is an odd, illusion shattering moment for me. 12,000 of these exist? And 12,000 people carry it just 400m? I always figured that there was one torch. Just one special, significant torch. 12,000 kind of takes the sense of special out of it. And I also thought that the individual legs were much longer. Which is not to say that I don’t understand the beauty of getting a lot of people involved in the moment, like that old lady who was an Olympian way back in the day – that was cool.

    And maybe you can tell me this – is there significance to the number 12 in these games? 12,000 torches for 12,000 relay participants. A 12-inch flame that burns for 12 minutes and the relay ends on Feb 12. Is that just coincidence?

    Pretty sweet that you got to get your hands on that thing.

    • ~KC~ says:

      I’m not 100% sure Andy.. I will definitely ask around what is the significance of ’12’… if there is any. I was able to hold it before it was unveiled to the world over a year ago. Had I had known it was going to be the day I was going to get my picture taken with the torch – I would have done myself up a bit better and put some makeup on or something!!! But voila… that is me with the torch au naturelle!

  3. Buck says:

    Now that Andy mentioned it… do you know what the disposition plan is for all 12,000 of these things? It didn’t occur to me yesterday.

    • ~KC~ says:

      Every torch bearer has the opportunity to buy their torch (they are all serialized) for prosperity and as a momento. Bombardier removes the butane container in it so that it can never be relight. Stands are made and sold as well. You COULD find a few on ebay or craigslist for sale by a few torch bearers but that makes me sad.

      I haven’t found out why ’12’ is significant yet… considering that they also hired 12,000 volunteers as well. Never occured to me to investigate or find out. Trying to see if there is but hmmm… no such luck as of yet!

Leave a Reply

