Invictus

I know.
I’ve been terribly delinquent in posting. I have my reasons.
Thank you Old Iron for giving me that time to deal with whatever was going on.
But my time will be limited in blogosphere as we are full-steam ahead toward the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  My schedule is already $%^&’d up as it is but its kinda cool.  And its going be done within the blink of an eye.
Then I must hit the job market.

Old Iron & KC Hitting Up Florida

A harsh one at best.  Especially here in Canada.
And I see great opportunities in the US… but the whole work visa/company sponsorship issue looms over me with great ferocity.  And most companies won’t look at you because they see, cost… not skill.  Despite being more than qualified.
But I still plug away and continue to try.  Perseverance eventually pays off.
I am afterall the captain of my soul.  Of my desiny.

2010 came upon us quickly.  But not fast enough.

I remember standing outside in the sketchy alley behind the legendary “Rhinoceros Club” in Detroit watching 1999 become 2000, and waiting for all the worlds infrastructure come to a screeching halt.  But it didn’t.  So I partied on.  We partied hard.
Then the world changed as we know it with 9/11.
The rest of the decade was spent in the front row/car of the Six Flag “Bizarro” roller coaster ride… so many ups & downs, twists and turns, stomach in my mouth, screaming bloody murder and cursing Jesus… that when 2010 was in the clearing, I was more than happy to dismount, perhaps dishevelled and needing to puke – but alive, exhilarated and happy to be on terra firma once again.
I hit 2010 with wobbly legs but feeling very much alive.

Even better, I got to welcome this new decade with a GREAT friend… and what a blast it was.  Can’t tell you why it

NYE in Stlye... Dan & KC

was one of the best NYE parties ever… it was just awesomesauce.  And I couldn’t have spent with anyone better.  Thank you Old Iron.  You totally rock the Casbah.  TOTALLY.  AWESOMESAUCE.

So the next month & half will prove to be the best juggling act of my life.  The delicate balance of personal and career… will either prove to be: make it or break it.  Sink or swim.  And I anticipate a bit of both.  Or not.  I tend to thrive under pressure.  I am a machine.  It’s in the slow times that I … well, idle hands bored minds… you know.  I don’t like NOT being busy.  But I anticipate it will be insane.  Climactic until it all ends on 28-Feb-10… and then… who knows.

I am the Captain of my Soul.
After the 28th… will be up to me.

And I am eternally grateful for the support of my good friends, whom I am sure I will need to rely on for their support and morale as I re-enter a challenged job market.  Something I haven’t had to do in 15 years.

I can only hope that I can make happen what I hope to see happen.  The whole “Laws of Attraction” thing that has served me well in the past.  But it will be strictly up to me… and right now, who I know.  But it’s a new decade.  And I plan on making it the best one of my life, so far.  And I know I have one amazing friend, along for the ride.

 
 

Happy 2010 Everyone

Invictus
~ William Ernest Henley 1875

Out of the night that covers me
Black as the pit from pole to pole
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced or cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horrors of shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate;
I am the captain of my soul

 

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

Leave a Reply

