Age.

A good friend of mine that has stomped all over the world in tandem with my activities recently sent me a batch of photos from our last little jaunt into madness together at the house in Naples. Talk about good times; wine, women and song, and not a care in the world. Thing is he also decided to also to send some pics of our time in Iraq that were taken back in 2005.

Don’t get me wrong, we had one hell of a good time out there and made some not-so-bad money and some amazing friends, but the shocker was not seeing the old environment or reliving past events. No, the shocker was this:

I looked VERY young.

No, let’s not pull any punches here.

I looked like a fucking CHILD.

Crazy thing about it is that I am not talking about photographic evidence of an event that occurred deep in the annals of history or time (i.e. ten or so years ago) but something that in my perception was really not that long ago. An event that just is not clouded by a softening of details nor a pause as the internal database is searched to fill in blanks: this is an event that spanned some time… and not a single hole in time is there.

I remember the whole thing.

-And no I am not saying that the times before the current ones were better in any way, though that could be argued quite convincingly, but just that it is a memory that is as clear as the day is long to me, and that I just can’t seem to convince myself that it was that long ago.

Maybe this is how adults catalog memory.

Good Times

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

One Response to Age.

  1. ~KC~ says:

    I dunno.
    I think you still look the same.
    But this is a great picture – you do look happy!

Leave a Reply

