Time to hit the trail again

Well, it’s time to once again embark on my three week reprieve to the lands that pseudo-normal people populate. I have served my two months of time on site, done my duty to God and the project, and get to once again assume the mantle of a normal human being… And I have to say that I am looking forward to how much the home front has changed, as it usually does.

You see being out of the States (or any kind of civilization for that matter) for the lengths of time that I am has an interesting effect on a person’s view of the environment around them. Take the little things for example, like the new fast food restaurant that was NOT down the street from my condo when I left on my first rotation to come out here, but like magic appeared when I came back. To the people that live in the area on a day to day basis this is not recognized as even a blip on the radar that is their lives, as the construction of that place has been going on for some time, has been mentally identified, and the interest that initially came has been shelved to dedicate it to more, well, interesting things, like what the hell are you going to talk about around the water cooler or what was on that GREAT new show last night that you watched.

-Or other meaningless and trite bullshit that “people” talk about.

Myself on the other hand, I get back and those small things that everyone around have written off are completely new. The construction that I saw being started two months ago has now finished, new buildings have gone up, I have new neighbors as the old ones have moved out, et cetera, et cetera. It is like putting down a book half way through the plot and picking it up later to find that somehow a few more chapters have been added.

Hey, I think it is kind of neat, and is a crapload easier to digest then when I was on a four month rotation. You may not realize how much actually changes in such a supposedly-short period of time, but take my word for it, it does. Hell, I came back once from Africa and the president had changed into a black man!

-But I digress.

To initialize my romping about I have finally decided that I want to take a trip that doesn’t require me to either wear a flack jacket and brain bucket or travel with a squad of armed guards. The decision to actually TRAVEL TO A VACATION SPOT was difficult, but I have, after much deliberation, broken down and made the decision.

Yep, I am going to Jamaica.

To a resort.

-Named Hedonism.

OOOOOH yeah its going to be a good time.

This time around I also get to actually spend the holidays with the family and visit a few friends along the way. This should be interesting as I have not been in the states for ANY of the holidays for many a year, and to be quite honest I just don’t remember how it is supposed to be done. It’s been so long that I keep forgetting if it is Uncle Dave’s turn to get hammered and make an ass out of himself, or do I have the honor this year. Who knows, maybe we’ll draw lots to find out.

-Also along for the ride is KC. I had a shitload of extra sky miles so I decided that she needs to help me rock the casba down in Naples with me for the New Year’s. Should be a good time as we had a blast the last time she was down, with massive amounts of libations consumed to complement massive doses of beach and sand.

NOTE: There WILL be photos.

Basically I am going on walkabout, and the next time I talk to you guys I’ll be on the road, so from me to you…. Stay safe and talk to you soon.

With this being said, I leave you with a little nugget that had me laughing for hours.

BEHOLD!!!


About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

One Response to Time to hit the trail again

  1. ~KC~ says:

    Oh there will be photos!!! hehehe and I also want stories and details (well some details anyhow) from Hedonism since you know I want to go there too!

Leave a Reply

