This is why we can’t have nice things

So I log onto my Gmail account this morning, as usual, to check on the comings and goings of friends and family as well as to see how many damned stores that I mistakenly signed up for newsletters from had Black something-or-other sales still going on, and wouldn’t you know it!!!

-My account had been hacked by some fucking spam site that was tied into some kind of electronics distribution group.

It was a sly little program / hacker that had done so, as it had not only hit up everyone in my contacts list but had also not only deleted the emails that were sent from the “Sent” box, but also scooped out all traces of my contacts, so I couldn’t supposedly send a batch email out to let everyone know that no, I am not now sponsoring, in piss poor english, some shitty electronics store that now apparently has an online presence. I did eventually recover most of the email addresses and did in fact send out an apology, but this post is not to highlight how crafty a good (horrible?) spammer is, but to actually note that I did not pay that much attention to many of the addresses that I sent the apology to until well after the fact.

Yep, I don’t know about you folks but the address that I have with gmail has been in use for quite some time, and many things have changed since I started using the google mail thing back in 2005… Namely that I have had a COUPLE of girlfriends / intimate encounters over this time that, thanks to the digital revolution and instant communication pulling us closer together (and being much cheaper than international calls) I have based most of this out of said account. Now, out of the wildest annals of history, not one but TWO emails have now come from a person that a few women haven’t communicated with in some time.

OOOOH, FUN!!!

I hate to say this, but the fallout from this should be awesome. I already was contacted by one ex….

I’ll update this as the situation evolves.

-This is going to suck.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

One Response to This is why we can’t have nice things

  1. ~KC~ says:

    I get to revel in your misfortune… hehehe… that is IF there will be a fallout!
    If there is… you can dance AND juggle, right?
    hehehe

    But speaking of SPAM… in a similar point – a while ago, I tracked all of the supposed lottery wins I got in my SPAM and inbox from all these scam artists… and after 31 days I was supposedly a winner of over $79M USD!!! Its insane the lengths some people go too and also rather annoying!

Leave a Reply

