Can’t We All Just Get Along???

I wonder if its mutal?  Growing up in the looming shadow of Big Brother, often being referred as the sweet but retarded cousin and recently called parasitical … no wonder Canadians are loosing trust, patience and appreciation for our Southern neighbours, the Americans.

And then this comes out.

Surprising?  Not really.
I mean most Americans know very little about their supposed retarded cousins to the North.  Ask an American who our Canadian Prime Minister is or who the very first Prime Minister of Canada was WITHOUT GOOGLING IT – most will stare at you with a blank look.  And yet, we know the answers to such important historical facts are for the US.  Ask Americans about our provinces and how many ‘states’ we have…  where our capital is or what a loonie or toonie is – and you don’t get much. Americans assume we, Canadians, are just … well… retarded, beer drinking, pot smoking, igloo living, rednecks that wear funny hats and who end every sentence with ‘eh.’

*insert blinking eyes… gullible blank looks here*

Yeah.
I know.  You don’t care about us.
‘Cuz we so dumb.

So does it come as a surprise that, well, we don’t really care nearly as much about you… as perhaps you once thought we did?

I am not an Anti-American.  Far from it…  but I am kinda tired of the stigma Americans attach to Canadians.  Maybe it was our fault for letting you see skits of Bob and Doug McKenzie.  Perhaps you thought it was real, rather than seeing it for the comedic farce that it was.  But we aren’t like that.  But apparently you are far more gullible than we are.

I dunno.
Can Canadian-American relations be salvaged?
Or do we really care?
Apparently not so much… LOL.

Seriously – I don’t hate you.  Many a Canuck don’t hate you.  We simply react to you Canada-hating Americans.  And many of us are kinda tired of being the butt end of all your jokes and discontentment.  That we don’t bring anything to the global table – only that Americans do.  We aren’t chop liver.

One has to wonder though… what is it?  Why the hate on?
Maybe its maple leaf envy…. It must be.
Or jealousy… afterall, we do have GREAT Canadian beer that doesn’t taste like cat piss…
Oh no no.  It must be because of our poutine.  Or our toques.
It  MUST BE SOMETHING dammit… there MUST BE A REASON!!!

I dunno, seriously. But whatever it is, I’m sorry.

About ~KC~
Strong but open minded, opinionated, sensitive, vivacious, outgoing, caring, compassionate, spiritual, habitual, mutable, at times controversial, sometimes superficial, perceived as egotistical and knowledgeable but mostly loveable... all things Sagittarius.

7 Responses to Can’t We All Just Get Along???

  1. Andy says:

    “Maybe its maple leaf envy…. It must be”

    Surely you don’t mean the Toronto Maple Leafs! Have you seen their record this season?

  2. ~KC~ says:

    hehehe.. like Anthony said in his apology – you can take our NHL franchise… LOL!!! The Leafs are a disgrace!

  3. Andy says:

    These things all come around sometime. I just happen to be enjoying an early season resurgence of my beloved Avalanche, and hoping it continues. I gladly and humbly thank Canada for sending the Nordiques to Colorado and giving me a hockey team to love.

    Are you in Toronto, then, or B.C as my SiteMeter keeps indicating?

    • ~KC~ says:

      Your SiteMeter is accurate – I do live in BC but I lived for many years in Ontario. Let’s just put it this way – I’ve either lived or been to every province in Canada except for the Maritimes. That is on my list of places to be. But for now, I am in BC, where it all started.

      Now back to Canada’s favorite pastime – hockey – I know Québec has been pushing to bring the Nordiques, errhh Avalanche, back HOME… the prospect for the province to have that sibling rivalry back with the Habs – is very exciting. I mean people are even talking about bringing back the Jets… so who knows. Canada would like to see these teams returned home. Will it ever happen? I doubt it. We don’t have the money the US does for such things.

  4. Old Iron says:

    I was under the distinct impression that the only past times that Canadians participate in consist of wearing flannel, logging, and consuming VAST amounts of cheap can beer that you chilled in the permafrost outside of your log cabins.

    -And hockey.

    I got all of my fact from television so the HAVE to be correct.

    Well KC, just got back from Warri and boy do I have a story for you. Might just have to post about it.

  5. Your beer is better than ours, I’ll give you that. And I think your people are great. It’s your leaders I can’t stand. I often get the impression that if Canada’s birth was as violent as America’s, perhaps Canada’s leaders wouldn’t be quite so…British in their thinking. Far too many of the things they do seem to be designed to show the leaders are such wonderful humans, when nobody really does believe it and nobody really cares.

    And so they end up doing stupid things. “Luxury” income taxes. Forcing old people to learn French and the Metric system just so they can buy stuff. Buying into the global warming hooey.

    I grew up right next to Canada. Got to listen every single weekday morning to the proceedings in Ottawa. Holy CRAP. People down here are embarrassed to listen to our own Congress in session. We’ve got nothing on ya.

Leave a Reply

