I am… nervous.

Yeah, it is almost five ion the morning here in (eventually) sunny Florida… And I am nervous. I go to the home base today in a couple of hours, with carry on ONLY luggage in tow and a bit of apprehension in the ole ticker. I may yet be a young lad in the minds of my peers, but no matter what going home with not the impending issue being one of wine, women or song, of which I have had a reference of all of the above, but one of UNEMPLOYMENT being the topic of conversation… I tend to be a bit gun shy when facing the family with such, and the family is the firs that I am to see when I arrive. A short taxi ride up to the parent’s house and I am in the door to house sit as well as dog watch for the next ten days, with full familiar support in tow, seeing as how I was recently let known that the friggin CHECH grandparents will be in the area.

Ugh, if life was not a spot of trouble enough.

I have, according to the calendar, been out of work now for the past three weeks. Don’t get me wrong, I am financially sound, but still the worry of having to look the fam in the face and let them know that yes indeed-dy I plan on not working until something says “HI!! WE NEED YOU!!!!” arrives is a bit daunting.

Wish me luck mates.

This next period of time should be pretty trying.

About Old Iron
I'm just a guy that works overseas alot and likes to play just as hard as I work. Been to a FEW countries, know a shitload of people all over, and generally have a good time wherever I go. -Oh, and I am currently in between girlfriends, and strangely enough and perfectly happy with that status. In the long run hookers are cheaper. Take my word on that.

4 Responses to I am… nervous.

  1. Dazza says:

    Daunting to say the least as I well know this from experience. I have found myself in a similar situation and in fact, it is even worse for I am not financially sound as I’ve never been any good at looking after money. I was paid off totally out of the blue some 7 weeks ago. Fortunately i was offered a couple of weeks work at home at reasonable hourly rate working 12 hours 7 days. The problem was the position was right back down at the bottom of the ladder doing the job I had spent the last years of my career pointing at and telling others to do. I said yes for the humbling experience and to bring me down to earth remembering where I came from. I thought it would give me a better understanding of why simple tasks took so long these days. Was it really because the people working for me was useless? I now know not, it’s the beuraucratic bullshit and lack of meaningful training we have imposed on todays young. I spent the first five shifts doing the manual work I had spent years imposing on others and believe me when I say, every single muscle in my not so frail and not so old body ached. It was worse than going to the gym for the first time, but that was ok. The fact that I’m camp based (worst I’ve ever known) in a civilised part of the world with no TV and a strict no alcohol policy was ok too. I was then sent to the cabin for three days to play cards while the pressure testing was going on in my area of work. Demoralising but still it was ok then yesterday I was given a black bin liner, a brush and a shovel used for the snow and told to start cleaning the whole shipyard. I didnt complain and I motivated myself by remembering the many lectures I had given to my people explaining I have never asked a man to do anything I wouldnt or havent done myself. It didnt work of course!!! Up until a month ago I didnt even clean my own house as I had hired help. My back is killing me from bending down and picking up rubbish but I’m proud of myself for not being too proud to do this. I’m humbled and I hope it makes me better at being in charge and responsible again so ffs get me the hell outa here, the JOKES over!!!!!

  2. Buck says:

    I’m glad you’re in good financial shape, OI. A few weeks off never hurt anyone with money in the bank, unless you have to defend yourself against disapproving scowls and the like. Hang in there.

  3. Cdn_Relic says:

    Hang in there buddy!! I doubt that have no game plan, just follow your gut and all will fall into place

  4. Fay says:

    Sorry to hear the job is gone. You’re a survivor though and good things will happen in time. Enjoy your free time with family and friends,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

